You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 16, 2009.

Melinda Dann

Hello again, it’s your lovable design intern! And Happy Button Day!

Back to blogging! I can’t say I’m hooked, but it’s pretty fun. (And not quite as scary the second time around!)

When I was told that today was Button Day, it raised a lot of questions. What is Button Day? What kind of buttons are they talking about? Are they metaphorical? Is it a day for pushing people’s buttons? What about flair? My Facebook flair collection is fairly large…perhaps the day should be celebrated by doubling it? (Sadly, Wikipedia is of no use in this case. Whatever shall I do?)

And why are we celebrating buttons? It’s not that buttons aren’t useful or fun, but do they need a whole day to celebrate? What about Zipper Day? Snap Day? I’m just saying…maybe there are other things we could have celebrations for. It’ll catch on, right?

Of course, there is definitely a lot to be said for buttons in paper crafting. I have seen so many cards with buttons made into balloons, flowers and birds. There are really cute ideas that I would never have thought of before, and some of them even incorporate the design on the button into the new design. Too cute! Just like Former Paper Crafts Pro Alisa Bangerter’s Birthday Buttons Card from our new resource book A Card a DayI would love to receive a card like this for my birthday!

Birthday Buttons Card by Alisa Bangerter

Okay, maybe I’m starting to see the need for Button Day. (For more button inspiration, click HERE to see how our 2009 Gallery Idol finalists incorporated buttons into their card designs. Pretty amazing, huh?) I bet you’re saying you could really use some buttons about now. Your wish is my command! Leave a comment telling me why you love buttons so much and I’ll pick one winner to win this assortment of colorful buttons from American Crafts! All comments must be received by midnight (MDT) on Tuesday, Nov. 17.

One lucky winner will take home ALL of these buttons!

Your Paper Crafts Design Intern,
Melinda

P.S. Ok, now that my gushing is over, I want to encourage everybody to come back tomorrow to this here blog. I’ve been working on something for Paper Crafts that is going to be posted tomorrow! It was a challenge to pull together, but I’m really proud of how it turned out! Make sure you come back and see it!

P.P.S. It’s time to announce the three winners from Susan’s We Are the (Moxie Fab) World post and the two winners from Kelly’s Living in the Now post!

Susan’s winners:

1. Marla H. (Nov. 12, 4:53 p.m.)
2. Cheri Howard (Nov. 12, 5:44 p.m.)
3. Mary D. (Nov. 13, 3:23 a.m.)

Kelly’s winners:

1. Wendy (Nov. 13, 4:51 p.m.)
2. Charlene G. (Nov. 13, 1:09 p.m.)

Congrats, winners! Kelly will be contacting you shortly to discuss your prizes and get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

Paper Crafts Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 494,836 hits