Kim Kesti

If you’re lucky enough to already own a copy of the new Paper Crafts Go-to Sketches, then you know exactly what I’m talking about when I say “over the top inspiration”. I was totally “wowed” just by looking at the gorgeous cover!

Well, that’s nothing compared to my delight in every single page of this very special issue. Gasp, grin and giggle pretty much describe my reaction. Then, it was off to my scrap room to act on all that inspiration.

Not only are sketches fun and easy to use, they are also super versatile. Let me show you. First, I picked out this simple sketch (I love the scallops).

I have a sister-in-law who recently had a baby, so I wanted to make a small gift bag. I thought this sketch would be perfect for a baby theme. Since I had a specific size to work with, I chose to paint a scalloped square directly on my patterned paper. Then, I simply added a cardstock strip, flower and stickers. I love how it turned out.

Of course, sketches are perfect for cards, too. I’m feeling the love for the baby stuff now, so I continue on and made a baby card. This time I turned the sketch upside down for a little different look.

I freehand cut my scallops and added a little paint swoosh here and there. A ribbon tie and a few small accents are all I needed to finish this little cutie.

Why not round it out by making a little tag, too? I love having a few tags in my stash to tuck into small gifts.

I kept pretty true to the sketch by making my tag a square; then, I used a scalloped square punch, two little pieces of ribbon and an epoxy for my sentiment. This was super fast and easy to create!

Now, I know you really want a chance to win a copy of this new special issue – am I right? All you have to do is leave me a comment and tell me about the last time you paper crafted a NON-card project. What did you create? Scrapbook pages, home décor, a gift bag?  You have until midnight (MDT) on Thursday, April 8 to leave a comment and be entered to win one of three copies!

Happy Sketch Days!

Kim Kesti,
Paper Crafts Go-to Gal

P.S. Some of the other Go-to Gals are making a bag, a tag and a card from this very same sketch! Make sure you visit their blogs to see their interpretations. And I hear Cath is hosting her Go-to Sketch Challenge on Moxie Fab World today. Feel like getting sketchy? Hop on over to see the fun!

P.P.S. It’s time to announce the three winners from Kelly’s Go-to Sketches Photo Shoot post!

1. Cynthia B. (April 5, 11:22 p.m.)
2. Melanie Gleisner (April 5, 3:27 p.m.)
3. Nicole Maki (April 5, 10:03 a.m.)

Congrats, ladies! You’ve each won a copy of Go-to Sketches! Kelly will be contacting you shortly to get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

