Matt Anderson

Hello, friends! It’s been awhile since you last heard from me. (I’ve been a little busy with my new role as art director, teaching design classes at a local college and coaching my son’s football team).

So when Kelly suggested it was time for me to blog again, I told her it had to be something I was passionate about.

Enter Go-to Sketches.

First, let me just say that Go-to Sketches is a must have for any paper crafter. It’s full of useful tips, creative sketches, big color images and personal quotes from all our Paper Crafts Go-to Gals. Plus, it was a lot of fun to create, which I had a little something to do with.

My white props played a subtle role in this graphic cover.

My concept was to go clean, simple and basic with everything shot on white. I wanted the projects and their colors to “pop” off the page. The projects, sketches and our Go-to Gals themselves were the highlight of this issue, and I wanted them to shine respectively.

The idea to shoot everything on white was simple as far as thought processes goes, and it worked really well. So well in fact that I’ve started integrating this white on white look into the columns and departments of our regular Paper Crafts issues. The fun part in creating this special issue and our very first edition of Go-to Sketches, was the preparation – even though it was a lot more extra work. I took older props and paper crafting tools from our resource room and spray painted them white, along with my arms, fingers, shoes and pants.

Can you see the fine dusting of white paint on my shoes?

When I was done painting, this was our arsenal of props for this issue.

This issue is priceless when it comes to resource and shelf value. Trust me ladies…you’re going to want to run out and get this one! If you already have it, I’d love to hear what you think of the overall design. My humble ego could use some positive reinforcement. Editor’s Note: That cheeky Kelly added that last line just to make fun of me. It’s not easy pleasing this all-female team!

Your Paper Crafts Art Director,
Matt Anderson

