Elyse Harris

So now that you’ve all seen my face and learned about a few of the things I do here at Paper Crafts, I think I’ll introduce my busy schedule to you. First off, I’m majoring in English (minor in editing) at Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. 

So aside from being a full-time student, I also have two jobs and this internship. I work at The Pizza Factory in Provo, and usually work there about 12 to 15 hours a week. I’m also a research assistant for one of my former religion professors. My co-worker and I usually try to get in six to eight hours a week. And finally, I have this internship. It takes me about 30 minutes to get here and 30 minutes to drive back. I try to come in three times a week, and I usually stay for three to four hours each time. So have you been keeping track? That’s a total of 21 to 27 hours of work a week. And that doesn’t even include driving time. Or school. Or homework. Fortunately, that’s not every week. Just most weeks.            

So as promised from my last post, I have a few creations to show you! When I began working on my cards, I quickly learned that paper crafting requires a lot of creativity. I started out rather apprehensive about the whole thing. Not because I wasn’t excited…I just knew that much more experienced paper crafters were going to be seeing these projects. But as I relaxed a little and told myself that it’s okay to start out inexperienced (because who starts anything experienced?), I actually began to enjoy myself. And it helps to have some yummy product to work with! Love the new lines by Cosmo Cricket! 

I used Cosmo's Garden Variety on my Two Peas in a Pod Card.

And Cosmo's Material Girl collection on my Sew Sweet Card.

I know they’re pretty simple, but I was pleased with the results. I’ll admit that I’m pretty nervous about sharing these cards with all of you because there’s a lot a talented readers out there. If you have any ideas on how I can improve my cards or what I can do in general to improve my paper crafting technique, please let me know! 

With my busy schedule, I found time to create my cards after work and before going to bed. How do you fit paper crafting into your schedules? Are you a night owl? A weekend crafter? Whatever it is, I’d love to hear from you! 

Your Paper Crafts Intern,
Elyse Harris

