P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Freebie Friday! I don’t know about you, but I’ve always loved rainbows. Maybe it’s seeing all those bright colors right next to another, each one beautiful and unique in their own brilliancy. 

Speaking of rainbows, I’m also a fan of the candy, Skittles. No just because they’re delicious to eat, but because they bring back a fun school memory. I’ve already told this story here, but if you’re new to this blog, it’s new to you! 

“…Then came Ms. Dowell in third grade. She used to keep a candy dish on her desk filled to the rim with brightly colored Skittles. Every time we would “do well” in class (get it…her name was Ms. Do-well), we would get to pick out one Skittles candy from her tall dish. (I’m convinced she refilled that thing every day because it never seemed to disappear!) I would always pick red (strawberry) and happily munched on it all the way back to my desk. To this day, whenever I open a bag of Skittles, I always reach for the red ones first and I think to myself, ‘You deserve this. You did something well today…'” 

So it’s no surprise that I love product that comes in a rainbow of colors. Bling, buttons and brads all remind me of shiny Skittles in a glass jar…just waiting to be “munched” on. But nothing excites me more than a set of never-been-opened, never-been-used markers. I love knowing that so much color resides in each small tube. And all you have to do is twist off the cap and play!  

Angie Hagist's Hello Hill Card from Stamp It! Cards.

I love how Angie used markers to color in her stamped image here. What a fun, whimsical tree with brightly colored mushrooms! For more great examples of marker-happy projects, pick up a copy of Stamp It! Cards or turn to the Marker Magic feature in our January/February 2010 issue. 

So you knew it was coming from the title of the blog, right? Right. I’ve got three sets of Bic’s Mark-it Ultra Fine Permanent Markers. Their ultra fine tips are perfect for coloring in those detailed stamped images…or if you’re like me, writing your name in 36 fabulous colors! Leave a comment telling me what you would do with a set like this. All comments must be received by midnight (MDT) on Sunday, March 28. 

Three lucky people will walk away with 36 colors of rainbow fun!

Happy Coloring!
Kelly 

P.S. It’s time to announce the winner of Jennifer’s Sketchy Math post! 

Brenda (March 23, 11:02 a.m.) 

Congrats, Brenda! You’ve won a copy of our new special issue Go-to Sketches! I’ll be contacting you shortly to get your mailing address. Thanks to all who left comments! (If you didn’t win this time around, you can always purchase a copy of Go-to Sketches HERE.)

