Elyse Harris

Well, hello, hello Paper Crafts readers! You’ve probably already noticed that my face looks new – that’s because I’m the new editorial intern here at the magazine. I’ve only been here for two months, but already I’ve learned so much.

My first task was to complete a technical writing assignment – writing supply lists and instructions for the projects you see in the magazine. My first thought was “Okay, this shouldn’t be too hard.” Boy was I wrong! After writing the first draft, I had to edit it over and over again. Every time I looked at it, there were several mistakes that I had missed the previous time! How did so much escape from me?! Especially since I’m an English/editing major! Well, all I have to say is now have a new-found respect for the writers here. It’s definitely much harder than it looks. Trust me.

Cataloguing projects for an upcoming issue gave me a chance to fully appreciate the projects our talented readers create.

For my next assignment, I had the wonderful opportunity of sorting cards. Truthfully, this has been my favorite task so far because not only did I get to open tons of packages (I mean, who doesn’t love opening packages?), but I also got to see all the gorgeous cards in them!

Okay, truth time. *Cringe* I’ve never actually made a card before. There, I said it! But you can breathe a sigh of relief because after writing all those supply lists and sorting cards for the next issue, I’ve come to the realization that I may have been missing out. Card making and paper crafting in general looks like so much fun! Plus, maybe it will impress some cute boy. 🙂

Something you all should know about me is that I’m up to trying anything new. Trust me, I really do mean anything. (This past October I completed a triathlon. And have I mentioned that I am not athletic? I used to hate running.) Anyway, I’ve decided to buckle down and get started on my new hobby of paper crafting. I can’t promise that it’ll last forever, but if I could become half as amazing as some of our Paper Crafts Go-to Gals, like Betsy Veldman or Kim Kesti, then I’d be pretty happy with myself. Time to get to work!

Your Paper Crafts Intern,
Elyse Harris

P.S. I’ll be writing two more blog posts before my internship ends. Hopefully by then I’ll have a few projects to show off.

