P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Freebie Friday! Did everyone enjoy “meeting” little Cooper yesterday? Isn’t he a sweetheart? I must say, spring is definitely the season for babies…at least in my world right now!

My cousin and his wife welcomed their baby boy Nixon Bradley five days after Cooper was born. And my girlfriend Ann is due any day now with her first boy. I was hoping he would come on my birthday earlier this week, but the little guy is being stubborn and holding out for a cooler day. Maybe he’ll come on St. Patrick’s Day, just like my sister did 31 years ago!

With babies and birthdays clearly occupying my mind, I thought I would look up the origin and meaning of my own name. Even though I’m not of direct Irish descent, I know that the name “Kelly” is in fact Irish. According to BabyNamesWorld.com, my name means “war, strife, bright-headed”. One out of three adjectives ain’t bad, unless, of course, “bright-headed” refers to the color of my head and not what’s inside it! Sigh. I was really holding out for “warrior princess”…

Fortunately, the luck of the Irish was all over our resource book A Card a Day! For those of you of not familiar with this publication, essentially it’s a book with 365 card ideas – one for each day of the year. Doesn’t that sound like fun?

This Lucky Friend Card comes from birthday girl Betsy Veldman.

I'm so making Alli Miles' Lucky Card for my sister's birthday!

I love the sentiment on Shanna Vineyard's cute Shamrock Card.

Are you feeling the need to create something green? Then it’s your lucky day! I’ve got one giant green prize package! Leave a comment telling me the origin of your name (feel free to visit the web site I cited above) and one person will take home Little Yellow Bicycle’s Lucky Me collection. All comments must be received by midnight (MDT) on Sunday, March 14.

One winner will take home this Lucky Me collection from Little Yellow Bicycle!

Happy Friday!
Kelly

P.S. Hop on over to the Get Sketchy blog to see editor Susan Opel’s lovely green card! And join us on Monday as we show you more card examples of the green persuasion. Perhaps there will even be some shades of “Kelly” Green!

