Teri Anderson

Mark my words.

Crepe paper will be one of the next big things in paper crafting.

Lately, I’ve seen projects pop up in the blog world. Just check out this cute house by fellow Go-to Gal, Betsy Veldman. Look at those cute curtains she made with the stuff. Neat!

I also saw it at the recent CHA trade show. Heidi Swapp and demonstrators at Tattered Angels changed the color of crepe paper by applying Glimmer Mist to it. Make ‘n takers in another booth decorated boxes with crepe paper ruffles.

Let’s just say all these sightings have piqued my interest in crepe paper. So I recently picked up a couple rolls of crepe paper and spent an afternoon playing with it. My mission: to figure out just what I could do with the stuff.

I was pleasantly surprised with the results:

I used crepe paper to make the flower on this card.

I simply rolled a piece of a piece of crepe paper in a circle, scrunching it as I went. I adhered the completed circle to the card with glue.

I also used it on this heart here.

I cut several squares of pink crepe paper and then glued them onto the chipboard heart.

I also used crepe paper to:

  • Make a pleated ruffle. I took a strip of crepe paper and folded pleats into it. I placed two-way tape on a piece of cardstock and set the top of my piece of crepe paper right on it.
  • Sew with. I laid a piece of crepe paper on cardstock and then hand stitched a line right down the middle of it. I used my fingers to crinkle up the paper’s edges.
  • Stamp on. I stamped a solid image on a piece of it over and over again. If you do this at home, be sure to place scratch paper underneath your paper before you stamp – just in case the ink bleeds through.

The beauty of crepe paper is it’s forgiving. You can crinkle and scrunch it again and again without it looking too worn or tattered. It’s also just plain fun. Have you tried paper crafting with crepe paper? I’d love to hear what fun ideas you’ve come up with!

Yours in crepe paper playing,

Teri Anderson
Paper Crafts Go-to-Gal

