Kim Kesti

First of all, those of you familiar with my style know I don’t do a ton of stamping. I really need to be pushed to experiment and try new things. That’s why I was really excited (and a little nervous) to showcase gradient stamping. I think one of the best ways to learn something well is to teach it to someone else.

I know the gradient effect is really trendy in fashion and home goods; I love that we can translate that same trend into our stamping. Since I don’t own any gradient stamp pads, I decided to make my own. I choose three colors of Adirondack Alcohol Inks and grabbed a piece of Ranger Cut-n-Dry Stamp Pad Felt. (Yes, I’ve had this stamp pad felt in my stash for probably four years).

Next, I loaded up the stamp pad with the alcohol inks. I found that I needed to add even more ink after experimenting with some of my stamps. A nice saturation is important. I store the inked stamp pad in a Ziploc bag lying flat and it keeps really well.

I first used my newly created stamp pad as a traditional ink pad; meaning I choose a rubber stamp and stamped an image. But, I didn’t really have a large enough stamp that showed off the gradient effect well. Then, I thought “why not apply the stamp pad directly to my paper?” I’m definitely experimenting at this point. It worked beautifully. I swished my stamp pad left to right across my paper attempting to keep the colors from bleeding too much. This technique really showed off the three different colors of ink.

After letting the inked paper dry, I stamped a bold image in black and embossed it to make it pop a little more. I love how this turned out!

Finishing the card was easy. I printed a sentiment on cardstock, trimmed my stamped block and added it to the card front. I had a great time playing with this technique.

For more info on my Beautiful Birds Card, turn to p. 12 of Stamp It! Cards.

In fact, I didn’t stop there. Please hop over to my personal blog and see how I created another gradient stamp pad and used it three different ways on three brand new cards! I’ll also be giving away three copies of Stamp It! Cards!

Now, leave a comment here about a technique you’re nervous about trying (or one you’ve mastered) and you’ll be entered to win Inkadinakado’s Branchful of Birds stamp, Ranger Industries’ Adirondack Alcohol Inks in Eggplant, Stonewashed and Lettuce (used in my card above) AND a copy of our new Stamp It! Cards. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Thursday, Feb. 25.

Three lucky winners will take home this Inkadinkado stamp, three Adirondack Alcohol Inks and a copy of Stamp It! Cards!

Take care!

Paper Crafts Go-To Gal,
Kim Kesti

P.S. Are you feeling the Olympic fever? Today on Moxie Fab World, Cath is announcing the Olympics of Stamping with a blog hop featuring 11 of the most-published designers who will show a never-seen-before stamped card. Readers will have 12 chances to win stamps from My Cute Stamps!

P.P.S. It’s time to announce the three winners from Kelly’s Meet Kimberly Crawford post!

1. Jingle (Feb. 22, 11:13 a.m.)
2. Kay S. (Feb. 22, 6:33 a.m.)
3. Denise M. (Feb. 22, 12:10 p.m.)

Congrats, winners! You’ve won Flourishes’ Cherries & Peaches stamp set and a copy of Stamp It! Cards. Kelly will be contacting you shortly to get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

