Jessica Witty

Have you ever seen that TV show called Hoarders?   

I haven’t.   

And let me say, for the record, that I’m not like that.   

But I can appreciate the urge.   

The desire to keep.   

And keep.   

And keep.   

Until you think to yourself, “Now, Self, why exactly was I keeping this?”   

In an effort to ensure that I never start meandering down the little path to Hoarderdom, I’ve challenged myself as of late to use up the various scraps that I can’t bear to part with. Use it or lose it, I keep repeating to myself.    

I also tend to approach products from a “What else can I do with this?” kind of perspective. I gravitate towards items with multiple uses, whether that be stamp sets with themes I can use endlessly, products in colors I always gravitate to or tools that really give me a bang for my buck and lots of function for the space they take up.   

I also make living against veritable Craft Hoarderdom a sort of way of life. My cozy little dining room/craft area will soon be moved to a house a few miles away and relocated in…yup…the dining room. Some customized storage plans will make the space work just fine for me and my commitment to keeping things pared back. {As soon as there are pictures of that little life-changing project, I’ll share, I swear.}   

But…even after all that…there are some things that still confound me with this whole use it or lose it idea.   

Maybe it’s because I’m really a stamper at heart.   

Therefore, scrapbook supplies like letter stickers can still trip me up a bit.   

I mean, how do you ever use them all? Has anyone ever actually used up an entire sheet? Down to the q’s and z’s?    

Just how in the world am I ever going to be able to throw the sheet away if I can never use them all up?   

And, therefore, I attempted the impossible: the use of an entire sheet of letter stickers.   

I present to you, Exhibit A:   

This card would be the sort of entry example into using letter stickers, right? Pick a phrase, design a card and stick ‘em on. {Obviously, I should have picked a longer phrase…something like “How do I love thee? Let me count the ways?”} Ah, but wait…I did get a bit creative on the scalloped borders. Those little cuties came courtesy of all of those 3’s, 8’s, B’s, p’s, q’s, etc. Just lay them all down in a nice little line and cover up the edges with another layer. {Yeah, I’m totally on my way to using the whole sheet.}   

And now, for Exhibit B:   

Now we’re getting somewhere. A little town called Letterific, if I do say so myself. This one is sort of a modern take on using up those stickers…white on white, simple design, nothing fancy. I did use my noggin just a bit and tried to take the letters from just one section of the letter sheet, because I already had Exhibit C in mind…   

Ah, the piece de resistance of using up those letter sheets. Obviously, I was using a letter sheet where the negative image is still left on the backing that the letters come on. I just peeled the backing up, stuck it down onto the card base and trimmed off the overhanging edges. {I will admit to going with a smaller 3 ½” x 5” card base because I was not sure how this little experiment was going to turn out and I figured smaller might = easier.} I colored the “hi” in using a marker and yes, I am digging that little brain wave.   

I’m pretty happy with the little results of my experiment. One small letter sheet gave me three cards and three very different paths to using them. However…after all that…I still have something like 1/3 of the darned sheet left. {Oops.}   

Apparently this little Letter Sheet That Could is the sheet that is going to live on in my craft room for all of eternity.    

Any brilliant ideas on how to use them all up?!   

I’d love to hear what all of you do to make the most out of your products…stamps, ribbon, stickers…whatever! Leave me a little message with your brilliant double-duty ideas and I’ll pick one person to win this entire set of American Crafts Thickers. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Thursday, Feb. 18.   

One lucky winner will take home this whole sticker set!

Me and my letter stickers, signing off…
Jessica 

P.S. A little birdie told me that my cards above will be featured as a free make ‘n take at this year’s Creating Keepsakes Conventions! Click HERE to find out if a CKC is coming to a city near you!

