Kim Hughes

Attention all list makers! Are you like me and have a bazillion little notes left in every corner of the house? I vow to get that under control in 2010. One month down and I’m doing umm…okay with keeping up. 

I find there to be a wealth of information here on the Paper Crafts Connection blog, don’t you? So, I decided to keep a special journal next to my computer, compiled of notes, design ideas and inspiration. 

I found an old journal book that I had only used a couple of times (because those little notes never seemed to make it in there). I covered it with some fresh Three Bugs in A Rug paper, added a black paper strip to the spine and voila…a sweet place to leave my Paper Crafts Connection notes!

I chose to keep my cover simple. I didn’t want anything dimensional on it to distract me, and I decided on a fresh color palette to make me smile every time I pick it up.

The inside page is a pocket, just in case I do reach for some scrap paper to write something on. These little notes can slip inside and still be where they should be, until they make it into the journal.

The editors and Go-to Gals shared what they were looking forward to in 2010 in this post, so I wrote a few extras in my journal.

I was inspired by a card on Melanie Douthit’s blog, so I created two sketches based on her design and made note of a fun color combo to use in the future.

Inspired by Brandy’s Happy Bird Day post, I jotted down some fun ideas to keep in mind when I create.

And I wrote a friendly reminder to myself to create something FUN based on the new Card Creations: Start to Finish special issue!

If you don’t have a journal handy, try making a cover for a notepad. Or bind a book with different colored papers. Punch a hole in note papers and tie a ribbon through them all. The point is to keep all of your notes together and to find inspiration here.

Beautiful creations, challenges, prizes…what else could you ask for? It’s all here, and I make a point to stop by every day. I hope you do as well.

Happy Blogiversary, Paper Crafts!

Kim Hughes,
Paper Crafts Go-to Gal

P.S. I fell in love with the new BasicGrey lines at CHA! Leave a comment telling me how this blog inspires you and I’ll pick three winners to take home one of these collections and a Paper Crafts Betty t-shirt! All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Thursday, Feb. 4.

P.P.S. It’s time to announce the three winners from Kelly’s Happy Blogiversary post!

1. Reah Feiertag (Feb. 1, 8:38 a.m.)
2. see mary stamp (Feb. 1, 6:09 a.m.)
3. Rachael Wood (Feb. 1, 7:57 p.m.)

Congrats, winners! Kelly will be contacting you shortly to discuss your prizes and get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

