P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Magazine Monday and the first day of our exciting Card Creations, Start to Finish Week! Like I mentioned last Friday, we’ll be “starting” our promotional week here and “finishing” the week with Cath on Moxie Fab World. Doesn’t that sound just moxie fab

Since we have these first three days on Paper Crafts Connection, we’ll be spotlighting all three of our talented cover girls: Tanis Giesbrecht today, Charlene Austin tomorrow and Becky Olsen on Wednesday. 

In addition to making the cover, all three of these ladies have multiple cards in Cards Creations: Start to Finish, Vol. 2. Since they have their own unique way of carrying the design from the front to the inside of the card, we thought they each deserved their day in the spotlight. So, without further ado, let’s get to know Miss Tanis a little bit better! 

Tanis Giesbrecht

1. Where did you grow up?  

I grew up playing near the woods and the water in Kenora, Ontario, Canada. 

2. Do you work outside the home? If so, what do you do? 

I’m a teacher turned stay-at-home mom. I teach piano at home. Next year my baby goes to grade one and I’ll be SLOWLY dipping my big toe into that pool again after 14 years (yikes!). 

3. If a movie were to be made of your life, who would you cast to play the part of you? 

How about Zooey Deschanel? She looks nothing like me and is a “few” years younger than me, but I totally loved her in Bridge to Terabithia and Elf

4. What song would you choose as the theme song for your life? 

Getting to the core of who I am, it would have to be “Let My Life Song Sing to You” by Casting Crowns. 

5. What is one thing most people would be surprised to hear about you? 

That I’m short. And I play a mean defense in hockey (he he). I think it’s funny when people assume you’re tall from your headshot, but I’m only 5′ 1”. 

6. What/who inspired you to start paper crafting? 

Ever since I was young, I loved art and crafty things. I dabbled in many INTERESTING crafting possibilities as a teen and young adult (think homemade scrunchies and poofy fabric-covered trinket boxes), but finally found a passion for paper and stamps in 2003 at a stamping party. 

7. What is your biggest paper crafting challenge? 

Getting out of a creative slump is the hardest thing for me. My creative life is pretty wavy. After a few days of GOOD crafting, the slump hits. I usually just take a day or two off and I’m good to go again, but it helps loads to have easy access to great inspiration, both online and in magazines. 

8. If you were only allowed two items to create a card beside cardstock and adhesive, what would they be? 

Patterned paper and my sewing machine. 

9. What is your favorite occasion or holiday to paper craft and why? 

I enjoy making cards for all kinds of occasions, but I feel the happiest when I make something I really love for my house. 

10. How would you describe your style?  

I let the papers or stamps I’ve chosen decide what my style will be. But usually my projects have a whimsical, homespun feel. 

We just loved the design of Tanis' Happy Birthday to You Card.

11. When is your favorite time to craft? 

When I have spare time! It can really be any time of the day, as long as something has inspired me to create. 

12. What sort of music do you listen to while crafting?  

I have noise around me ALL day long. I prefer silence! 

13. How does your family participate in your paper crafting passion? 

Mostly just by giving me time to create! My two older girls sometimes join in and make something of their own. And they all join in the “Yes mom, it’s very cute” chorus when I ask for an opinion on a finished project. 

14. When it comes to calls and deadlines, how do you keep yourself organized? 

I use Google Calendar. It’s really simple to use, always available and I can’t lose it under a stack of papers. 

15. Do you remember what Paper Crafts issue your first project appeared in? How has your style changed since then? 

My first card appeared in the March 2007 issue as a winner of the Birthday Blowout contest. After getting the news that I had won, I jumped right on the current call and had my first card accepted in the April/May 2007 issue. I’m not sure I HAD a style back then, but I really enjoyed distressing my projects. I still enjoy that technique if it suits the project I’m working on, but my favorite cards now are usually bright, happy, clean and simple. 

16. Have you contributed to any design teams in the past or present? If so, which ones? 

I’ve been a part of the Odd Bird Planet and Queen Kat Designs teams over the past couple of years. I’m currently on the DT for Caardvarks (a card challenge site) and I draw stamp designs for Unity Stamp Company

17. Name three designers whose styles you like and why they appeal to you.   

  • Teri Anderson for her FUN spirit which seeps into her cleverly designed cards.
  • Dawn McVey for her amazing use of color and FINE stamping abilities.
  • Julie Campbell for her homespun, warm style and personality.

18. Do you have any advice/tips for someone who’s never been published or who wants to submit for the first time? 

Don’t be shy, don’t give up and enjoy the process! I’ve seen many comments from people saying “I’m not ready” or “I’m too nervous”…but really there’s no need! And if you enjoy the process of creating to submit, there is nothing to lose. The biggest rewards for me have been the many things I’ve learned about paper crafting and how I’ve grown as a designer and as a person in the process. 

19. What was your inspiration for your What Hill? card that appears on the cover of Card Creations: Start to Finish, Vol. 2? 

My project idea started with a sheet of birthday sentiment rub ons, which gave me a head start on the design and the inside of the card. The hill was an obvious starting point for me and once I found the perfect stamp set, the rest was all downhill from there. 

Tanis' What Hill? card carries the design and sentiment from the front to the inside. Nice job, Tanis!

20. Do you have a blog or online gallery? If so, please provide the URL.  

I do have a blog (http://papercanvas.wordpress.com). For those of you who would like to purchase Card Creations: Start to Finish, Vol. 2, please visit my blog to hear about the special deal you can get!

Thanks, Tanis! Our friends at Unity Stamp Company were nice enough to donate three sets of their Tiny Giggle Grove stamp set – the same set Tanis used to create her cover card above. Please leave a comment and I’ll pick three random winners to receive this set, plus a copy of Card Creations: Start to Finish, Vol. 2. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Tuesday, Jan. 12

Three lucky winners will take home this fun Unity stamp set!

Happy Monday!
Kelly 

P.S. It’s time to announce the winners from Susan’s Tips, Tools, & Techniques Trivia post and my Card Creations: Start to Finish Week post!   

Susan’s winners:   

1. Julie E (Jan. 7, 8:40 p.m.) Winner of the unfinished MakeMemo Board!
2. Pam of Memphis (Jan. 7, 10:22 a.m.) Winner of the Fiskars circle cutter and three Marvy punches!

My winners:  

1. Karen (Jan. 8, 5:11 a.m.)
2. cards4ever (Jan. 8, 8:38 a.m.)
3. Janet Zeppa (Jan. 10, 3:29 p.m.)
 

Congrats, winners! I’ll be contacting you shortly to discuss your prizes and get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

