Holly Mills

2010 is right around the corner and while I typically don’t make resolutions, I do have a personal goal to try several new things every year. 2009 held many changes for me – the least being changing jobs. To a paper crafting company, nonetheless. I figured since I was on such a roll, I should continue down the slippery path of crafting and give it a try myself. 

Thanks to the guidance of my co-workers (Holla!), I have developed a healthy starter crafting kit. I figure there’s no time like the present to squeeze in one last experiment…er…I mean experience before the clock hits twelve. 

I recently spent a morning making my first handmade card. (Angel choir chimes in.) It took me a long time to get going because I kept getting distracted with all my new crafting tools. It sort of felt like a second Christmas! I developed quite the pile of supplies on my kitchen counter and my cat let curiosity get the best of him, so he came to check out the fanfare.

Wink: Woman, what is this dye-cutting, thicker-sticking, card-cutting, brad-pushing, glue-smearing on my countertop?

Me: I thought I would try making a card. You know, see what the fuss is about.

Wink: The fuss is the mess I’m about to make by lying all over your paper scraps and kicking supplies around. I’m hoping a few cat hairs will add to the charm, if not the validity of this first-ever card making event.

I used Beatriz Jennings’ Silver Snow Card from Holiday Cards & More, Volume 3 as my inspiration. 

Silver Snow Card by Beatriz Jennings

Silver Snow Card by Beatriz Jennings

While my creation doesn’t do hers justice, I figure we’ve all got to start somewhere, right?

Whimsical Snow Card by Holly Mills

By the way, Card Creations: Start to Finish, Volume 2 goes on sale today! It was my first project when I started working at Paper Crafts. When I showed my desk copy to my folks, they acted a bit surprised and impressed. When I inquired more about their reaction, my dad said,“Wow, you actually have proof of a job. I thought you just colored all day.” So run out tomorrow and buy the latest Paper Crafts coloring book!

Keep smiling,
Holly

P.S. Stay tuned for our fun Card Creations: Start to Finish Week (Jan. 11-15) on this blog and Moxie Fab World!

P.P.S. Speaking of Moxie Fab World, Cath is counting down to 2010 by showing you a sampling of all her moxie fab posts from 2009. Hop on over to weigh in on your favorites and possibly win a prize!

