P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Magazine Monday! I hope everyone had a very merry Christmas and Santa brought you a few new paper crafting goodies. I’ve been home in Texas less than a week and I’m already catching myself saying, “y’all” and “code”. If some of you are scratching your heads on that last one, it’s how we Texans say “cold”. 

And since it has been so “code” here, I’ve really enjoyed spending time indoors and catching up with all my friends and family. One of my favorite things to do on Christmas Eve is watch the classic movie It’s a Wonderful Life. I tend to buy it every year, but always find myself giving it away as a birthday or Christmas present. Just like the story I shared on Friday, I think it has a great, timeless message. And even though I have all the lines memorized, I love watching it as I wrap last-minute presents or work on my holiday cards. Yes, my cards almost never arrive before Christmas. Who has time for that?! They usually arrive sometime between Christmas and New Year’s. And I’m okay with that. 

This year I decided to send out a photo card of my little dog Lexus. Photo cards are so easy to mass produce and if you feel like spicing them up with some embellishments, you can add a little or a lot! I started by Photoshopping this cute thought bubble on my photo: 

I then ordered 40 duplicates for all my cards. When I picked up my photos, I noticed that the tops of the thought bubbles had all been cut off! Looks like I forgot to check the dimensions before I hit submit! Since I had just spent $10 on photo processing, I was going to make these work if it killed me. Since necessity is the mother of invention, I pulled out my favorite American Crafts ribbon and made a border around the photo. Ta-da! Problem fixed! 

Since Lexus had such a pained expression on her face, I knew I could be creative with my inside sentiment. So this is what my dear pup wished for: 

Sadly, Santa did not bring her a new mom for Christmas. But he did bring her a gorgeous faux pearl necklace. So we’re definitely working on the dignity thing! 

Happy Monday!
Kelly 

P.S. There’s still time to upload your Christmas cards to our December Gallery Challenge! Three lucky winners will walk away with a free subscription (or special issue of their choice) and the opportunity to be spotlighted on this blog on Monday, Jan. 4! Click HERE to upload your cards today! The deadline is TONIGHT at midnight

P.P.S. It’s time to announce the winners to Susan’s Home for the Holidays post, Kim Hughes’ The Magic of Coloring post and my Christmas Orange post! 

Susan’s winner: 

Alyssa M. (Dec. 22, 8:56 a.m.) 

Kim’s winner: 

Vicki B. (Dec. 26, 10:35 a.m.) 

My winner: 

Beth (Dec. 25, 8:31 p.m.) 

Congrats, winners! I’ll be contacting you next Monday, Jan. 4 to discuss your prizes and get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

