P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Freebie Friday! Can you believe Christmas is only a week away? Yikes! My shopping list is still a mile long, but I’m slowly making a dent in it. For my immediate family, I try to buy five or six small gifts. Most of them are practical in nature, but I always try to throw in one sentimental one. Something that really pulls at the old heartstrings. 

In addition to tangible gifts, I love giving away holiday treats. Nothing says Christmas like homemade fudge,  peppermint bark or some gooey, flaky pastry. My mother makes the most amazing Candy Cane Coffee Cake. Perhaps you’ve seen or tasted one. You essentially braid fruit-filled pieces of dough into the shape of a candy cane. Here’s an actual image from my mom’s 30-year-old Betty Crocker Christmas Cookbook

Candy Cane Coffee Cake

Looks delicious, right? My mom’s been giving these cakes away as neighbor gifts for as long as I can remember. The best part…they keep for several days, so you can nibble away at them piece by piece and not feel like you’re overdoing it. Because let’s face it, even though my mom would sometimes make 10 at a time, there would always be one or two that didn’t quite pass inspection, and therefore never left our kitchen. Waste not, want not! 

I just happen to have three paper collections from Bo Bunny that remind me of the hearth and home. I’d love to hear your favorite holiday treat/sweet/snack. Feel free to even share a recipe! Leave a comment and I’ll pick three winners to each take home one of these fun collections. All comments must be received by midnight (MDT) on Sunday, Dec. 20. 

Three lucky people will take home one of these Bo Bunny collections!

Happy Friday!
Kelly 

P.S. If you haven’t read Maren’s I’m Dreaming of a Chocolate Christmas post, it’s full of inspiring (and sinful!) ideas. 

P.P.S. It’s time to announce the five winners from Jennifer’s Happy Christmastine’s Day post! 

1. Rachel S (Dec. 15, 8:48 a.m.)
2. Barbara Staradumsky (Dec. 15, 8:17 a.m.)
3. Victoria S (Dec. 15, 8:25 p.m.)
4. Laura J (Dec. 15, 4:09 p.m.)
5. dahlhousedesigns (Dec. 16, 5:15 a.m.) 

Congrats, winners! You’ve each won a copy of our new January/February issue! I’ll be contacting you shortly to get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

