Melinda Dann

Does anyone remember the Sesame Street book There’s a Monster at the End of This Book? It starred Grover, and he spends the entire book trying to keep you from getting to the end because he’s scared of the monster that’s supposed to be there. He even attempts to build a brick wall to keep you from turning the page, but the reader has no problems tearing it to the ground. In the end, it turns out that he, lovable Grover, is the monster at the end of the book. 

I loved this book as a tiny tot (and still do today…I wish I still had my copy.) 

As I near the end of my time here at Paper Crafts, I kind of feel like Grover, as he was trying to keep me from getting to the end of the book. Not because I’m scared of what happens at the end, but because I feel there is so much more I could learn, and I’m going to miss everyone here. (Except Matt who I see all the time at school.) It was over so quickly, and I can’t help but wonder if there was anything I missed…any lesson that I could have learned better.

I do know that I appreciate Matt as a teacher more (and I’m not trying to be a teacher’s pet here – it’s actually true.) It’s much more fun to go into class knowing more about him and where he’s coming from. I also know that he cares a lot more about us as students that he lets on during critique. (I’m on to you, Matt.) 🙂

So, as much as I would like to build a brick wall and keep Friday from coming, I’m glad for the opportunities I had here, and I’m excited for what’s next for me! Thank you everyone for a great internship!

Your lovable design intern,
Melinda

P.S. Susan tells me the submissions deadline for Card Creations, Volume 8 is TONIGHT at midnight! Hurry and submit those amazing ideas HERE!

P.P.S. It’s time to announce the three winners from Kelly’s Conspiracy of Love post!

1. Nancy L. (Dec. 11, 11:18 a.m.)
2. Michelle A. (Dec, 11, 12:26 p.m.)
3. Dawnll (Dec. 11, 4:26 p.m.)

Congrats, ladies! You’ve each won a copy of Holidays Cards & More, Volume 4 and some fun paper crafting product! Kelly will be contacting you shortly to get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

