P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Freebie Friday! I love this special time of year. Not only am I mesmerized by the magic of the season, but I love how everyone seems to have a little more patience, a little more kindness and a little more love for their fellow man. 

Just this week Brandy announced our new joint venture with Creating Keepsakes magazine called “Creativity Heals”. The objective is simple: donate your time, creativity and supplies toward improving the lives of others. We’ve partnered with Operation Write Home, whose mission is to support our nation’s armed forces by sending blank greeting cards to write home on, as well as cards of gratitude to encourage them. Thanks to all who have already sent off cards to OWH and to those who are organizing their shipments right now. 

Around the office, we also get into the spirit of giving. Last year a few of us participated in a Secret Santa exchange. My little elf just happened to be “Matthew McConaughey” and every day he would leave me a gift, along with a cute note. What was so remarkable was how well he knew me…he left me bottles of Coke, KitKat candy bars and even little treats for my dog Lexus. 

Just a few of the goodies my Secret Santa left under my tree.

Since I know you’re all dying to see the “note”, here’s a close-up view: 

Who knew Matthew had such a sculpted...sense of humor!

It turns out my Secret Santa was actually the sneaky Miss Susan R. Opel. At the big reveal, she presented me with a gorgeous card she had made. Inside was a gift card to one of my favorite stores. And while I was sad to see my daily visits from “Matthew” disappear, it sure made my holidays a little bit brighter. Just another reminder that gift giving can be so much fun – especially when it comes from the heart. 

I recently stumbled across our Simple Sentiments from Holiday Cards & More, Volume 4. One of my favorite quotes by Hamilton Wright Mabie is: “Blessed is the season which engages the whole world in a conspiracy of love.” And, of course, you can’t go wrong with good ol’ Dr. Seuss… 

If you would like to download these festive sentiments, please click HERE. Ready for today’s giveaway? I’d love to hear all the fun ways you’ve spread Christmas cheer to your fellow man. Leave “Santa” a comment and he’ll pick three winners to take home a copy of Holiday Cards & More, Vol. 4, plus some fun paper crafting product. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Sunday, Dec. 13.  

Happy Friday!
Kelly 

P.S. It’s time to announce the two winners from Teri’s Christmastime is Ornament Swap Time post! 

1. Savannah O’Gwynn (Dec. 9, 9:12 a.m.)
2. Shirley K. (Dec. 9, 7:28 a.m.) 

Congrats, ladies! You’ve each won a snowman ornament from Teri! I’ll be contacting you shortly to get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments! 

P.P.S. Here’s another freebie for everyone! This holiday, we invite you to share the inspiration of paper crafting with a friend or relative–at a GREAT DEAL! Subscribe or renew your subscription to Paper Crafts at our special low rate and we’ll give a one-year gift subscription to a friend absolutely FREE! That’s two subscriptions for the price of one! This special holiday offer won’t last long…so click on over today! Offer valid in the U.S. only.

