Teri Anderson

Christmas would not be complete for me without adding a few new handmade ornaments to my tree. 

I’ve been doing that now for five or six years, thanks to a small group of women I met online through a discussion group for scrapbookers and card makers. 

It all started when one of the members suggested the group do an ornament swap. The rules were simple: Come up with an ornament and then make an identical one for everyone else who wanted in on the action.

Needless to say, that first swap was a hit, and the group has done an ornament swap every year since. I look forward to the annual swap. I love to see what my friends have dreamed up. Sometimes, the ornaments are really simple. Other times, they are a bit more complicated. 

Because of the group, I’ve added monograms, bells, buckets filled with nuts and candy, beaded cactuses, seashells, angels, snowflakes, stars, gingerbread men and lots of snowmen to my Christmas tree. 

As fun as it is to receive ornaments from my friends, it’s always fun to make ones for them. The ornaments provide a nice change of pace to the cards and scrapbook pages I usually make. 

I’ve made angels from bottle caps, Santa tags and snowmen from sticks and felt over the years. This year, I again went with a snowman. 

 

This is my ornament for the year. To make this guy, I covered two pieces of balsa wood with cardstock, glued them together and then just decorated my snowman up with chalk, brads, cardstock, pompoms and other crafts supplies. 

This year’s ornaments are scheduled to arrive this week. I can hardly wait. For me, Christmas just wouldn’t be Christmas without the swap. 

I’d love to hear from you today! Leave a comment here and you could win one of my snowmen ornaments. Two Paper Crafts Connection readers will each receive one. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Thursday, Dec. 10. 

Teri Anderson,
Paper Crafts Go-to-Gal

