You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 4, 2009.

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Freebie Friday! I think I’m still in denial about Christmas being three weeks away. I’ll let you in on a little secret…I still have NOT put up my Christmas tree or holiday decor. (I’m sure Jennifer and Brandy are gasping in horror as they read this!) I promise it will get done this weekend. It has to. Did I mention Christmas is three weeks away?  

My grandma and I will be attending the Festival of Trees on Saturday. (Hopefully you read Jennifer’s post and saw pictures of our beautiful tree!) Once I return home, the rest of the day will be dedicated to opening boxes and wrestling ornaments away from Devil Dog. Lexus is not really evil – she just has evil tendencies. But when her mom dresses her up like a glorified reindeer, what do you expect?    

Lexus the White-Nosed Reindeer

Besides her obvious pained expression, doesn’t she look cute? I’ve always been a sucker for little critters – especially when they’re all dressed up for the holidays! So it’s no surprise that I instantly fell in love with the shaped critter cards we featured in our November/December issue. In my humble opinion, Paper Crafts Go-to Gal Teri Anderson is the queen of shaped cards. She literally dreams up these designs, makes her own patterns and then embellishes them in her cute, Teri way. It’s almost like they come to life!  

Even though he's not a critter, Teri's Triangle Santa Card makes me squeal with ho-ho-ho delight!

And don't even get me started on Teri's Christmas Owl Card! Love the personality on this guy!

But let’s not forget fellow Paper Crafts Go-to Gal Kim Hughes…her Not a Creature was Stirring Card not only made our November/December cover, but it was the perfect addition to our All Creatures Great & Small feature. To create the body of the mouse, she traced a mug to get the perfect half circle!    

I love how Kim cut out the ear flap and made a festive little night cap, complete with pompom.

If you’re looking to make some playful Christmas cards, these three designs have cute written all over them. To download the patterns for Teri’s two shaped cards, please click HERE. Instructions can be found in our November/December issue on pages 40 and 69, respectively. For complete instructions for Kim’s mouse card, please turn to p. 70.   

Ready for today’s giveaway? Since I’m happily living in denial about the time of year, I’m giving away spring-infused critter product! Leave a comment telling me where you are in your Christmas decorating process: completely done, almost done or not even started. I’ll pick two winners to take home an assortment of American Crafts Blue Skies collection! All comments must be received by midnight (MDT) on Sunday, Dec. 6.   

Two lucky winners will win an assortment of this fun product!

Here’s to the critters!
Kelly   

P.S. It’s time to announce the winner from Kim Kesti’s December Daily Album post!   

Anita Surrett (Dec. 2, 5:42 a.m.)  

Congrats, Anita! You’ve won Close To My Heart’s chipboard album, their Reminisce stamp set and some fun holiday papers. I’ll be contacting you shortly to get your mailing address. Thanks to all who left comments!  

P.P. S. Our two-week Inspired By challenge ends at 9 a.m. on Monday! If you’ve been “inspired by” a project in one of our magazines, create a new project and upload it to our Inspired By Flickr group. You could be one of our three winners that walks away with a free subscription or special issue of your choice! Click HERE for all the details!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers