Holly Mills

Which came first, the chicken or the egg? Turkey and dressing or yams? Pumpkin or apple pie? 

As everyone here at Paper Crafts compared holiday weekend weight gain (or lack of – you go, girls!), I can’t help but reminisce about the delicious seasonal foods I second and third-helped myself to. Of course, my favorite servings came from the dessert table.

The last three months of the year are some of my favorite. While I enjoy the parties and visiting with family and friends, I confess some of my most favorite things about the holiday season are the color combinations in the decor and the food. Over the weekend I started to notice a peculiar correlation between these two favorites of mine. 

Favorite colors = favorite food. Coincidence? 

Photo courtesy of Country Living

Some of my favorite foods also happen to be a color that falls into one of my favorite holiday color schemes. The further I investigated this phenomenon, I started realizing how often I associate much-loved holiday foods with one of my favorite colors. Or do I associate particular colors with favorite foods? They’ve become a type of Bobbsey Twins, if you will.   

Photo courtesy of Toasts & Tables

When I see pink, I think peppermint. When I see light yellow, I think eggnog. When I see dark orange, I think of pumpkin. Burgundy takes me to cranberries. And brown…mmm…delicious brown…one of my all-time favorite colors. Brown hardly ever steers me wrong. Brown as gingerbread. Brown as cinnamon. Brown as hot chocolate. I’ve even told my hairdresser I’ve wanted my hair colored “Nutella Brown”. She knew exactly what shade I wanted.

Photo courtesy of Gluten-Free Cooking

It seems the color play of the holiday season is a sensational experience. It’s a feast for both the eyes and tummy. And most likely the hips and thighs as well.

Photo courtesy of Country Living

So which came first, my love for food or for color?

Keep smiling,
Holly

P.S. While none of my favorite foods are low in calories or fat-free, I promise this blog entry is.

P.P.S. If you’re feeling inspired by these pretty photos, why not look through a Paper Crafts publication and create a new card from a pretty project you see. Upload it to our Inspired By Flickr group and you could be one of our three winners that walks away with a free subscription or special issue of your choice! You better hurry because this challenge ends on Monday, Dec. 7. Click HERE for all the details!

