Cath Edvalson

In the November/December issue of Paper Crafts magazine, we’ve assailed you with inspiring projects you can create for the holidays. There’s an entire section devoted exclusively to holiday cards, a feature that shows projects with cute little Christmas critters on them and two features devoted to the gifting aspect of the holiday season.

While the Gift Trios feature shows you great gift-wrapping inspiration in which the same product was used for a gift container, a tag, and a card; another feature, The Heart of Christmas, shows you fun and unique ways to wrap up the tasty goodies we like to share with friends, family and neighbors during this bake-fest of a season.

I got busy baking myself for the feature’s opener:

Fresh from my oven to the pages of my favorite magazine.

Known as the “bringer of pies” in my circles, I just happened to be baking a birthday pie for my oldest daughter the weekend before the opener needed to be shot…way back in July. So naturally I volunteered to make another “while I was at it” pie. I was asked to cut a heart out of the center of the pie so the meaning of the title could be visually communicated, and while it was super easy to cut the heart out of the center of the crust, placing the heart in the smack-dab middle of the pie turned out to be much more challenging than I knew! Let’s just say that I’m very grateful for the powers of Photoshop, because as far as you know, *wink*, I placed that puppy dead-center, right?

Speaking of challenges, I’m not sure if you’re aware, but our November Gallery Challenge is “centered on” festive treat containers. Inspired by fantastic designs such as these from the feature, we’re hosting a super fun challenge that offers you an opportunity to show off your own festive ways of dressing up food gifts of all types and varieties!

I love the sweet paper crafted stocking Paper Crafts Pro Wendy Johnson has used for this treat container!

It doesn’t matter what your baking, there’s a way to paper craft the container! Here Paper Crafts Pro Susan Neal has fashioned a bread wrap and you could put just about anything in this beautiful container by Sherry Wright!

You have until Monday at midnight (MDT) to upload your creations, and you’ll not only receive a prize and be featured on this blog if you win, but you’ll also be able to scratch those homemade treat containers off your to-do list before Thanksgiving even thinks about putting itself on the table!

Click HERE for all the details you’ll need to get your craft on!

I can’t wait to be inspired by you,
Cath

P.S. We just sent out our Call for Submissions for Card Creations, Volume 8! Interested in submitting to our most popular special issue? Click HERE for all the details!

