Betsy Veldman

I can’t believe Thanksgiving is a week away. I’ve been given my food assignment: mashed potatoes. Thank goodness! I’m pretty sure I’ll never have to bring made-from-scratch stuffing again after last year’s fiasco. The words “wallpaper” and “paste” come to mind. So, mashed potatoes it is! I can handle that.

So what’s your Thanksgiving like? Do you have an elegant sit-down dinner? Or are you more laid back? We get together with the entire crew on my dad’s side, since there are too many of us for a formal meal around a table. We do buffet style, so there is really no need for formal table decorations, place cards and the like, but this paper crafting girl can dream, right?

In case you’re the type that goes all out with your table décor (and if you are, I’m jealous!), I’ve got a few place card ideas for you today. When doing this sort of thing, I always reach for products and tools that allow me to easily make multiples. Stamps and die cuts are the first things that pop into my mind, so here we go…four different place card ideas, each one easily reproducible. I’m here to make your life easy.

This first card uses the largest die from the Labels 1 Nestabilities set. Just score and fold it in half, add a little stamping and you’re set! You can add the names by stamping them with alphabet stamps or print them using your computer like I did…super fast and easy!

Next up is a little pocket card. I used the Tags, Bags, Boxes and More Cricut cartridge to cut these. The tag pulls out and is stamped with some journaling lines. I thought it would be fun to have a space for each guest to write something they are thankful for. The tags could then be hung on a little tree or kept for next year, or even used on a scrapbook page.

Next is a pocket made from a mini envelope. You can easily tuck a few berry sprigs (real or artificial) into the pocket for a simple, but elegant place card.

And lastly, this one was made with the little pilgrim’s table in mind. I know my little turkeys would get a kick out of having their very own pilgrim hat place card. This was cut using my Cricut and the A Child’s Year cartridge.

Well, here’s hoping you get your table all “set” for the upcoming holiday! I’d love to hear your ideas for holiday table décor! And if you’re looking for even more place card ideas, check out the Photo Finish column in the Nov/Dec issue of Paper Crafts, where five Go-to Gals show you a different way to personalized place cards by adding photos. So fun…your guests will love it!

Paper Crafts Go-to Gal,
Betsy Veldman

P.S. It’s time to announce the winner of Melinda’s Happy Button Day post!

Rhonda (Nov. 16, 11:18 a.m.)

Congrats, Rhonda! You’ve won an assortment of buttons from American Crafts! Kelly will be contacting you shortly to get your mailing address. Thanks to all who left comments!

