Sarie

Sarie Smith

Welcome to Magazine Monday! I’m Sarie Smith, Paper Crafts’ newest editorial intern. (If you’re all wondering how to pronounce my name, it rhymes with “Carrie”. Does that help?)

For introduction’s sake, here’s a few facts about me:

  • I laugh a lot, mostly at myself.
  • I have the cutest puppy in the world who just happens to be turning four in a week.
  • When all is said and done my one true love is soccer.
  • I’m so excited to be working in this office! I love magazine writing and editing.
  • This is my temporary headshot. I’m really not a Bridezilla. Promise.

My first day at Paper Crafts I learned three important things about my next three months as an intern. The first was that this is not an observe-and-then-you-work internship. Nope, this is a learn-as-you-go internship. Only 15 minutes after arriving, I spent the rest of the day in meetings coming up with workshop ideas, judging cards and tweaking cover call-outs for our January/February issue. I was thrilled to be part of the all the action!

The second thing was that EVERYONE on the Paper Crafts team has their own distinct style and preferences. Me included. I’m glad I will be able to express my own ideas here. I’ve decided that’s one of the reasons Paper Crafts has so many fun interesting projects – there’s a wide range of styles! It’s great to have a so many creative geniuses working together.

The third thing I realized was this: I’m going to have to dust off my card making skills to remember what all the hype is about. The awesome people in this office get so excited about all the projects they receive. Submission judging meetings are more like parties here. Readers, you are full of ideas that inspire us, and that in turn helps us fashion each and every magazine. Please keep your amazing cards rolling across our desks!

I’m also glad that one of the perks as an intern is that I get to write blogs every now and then. So make sure to check back for some office secrets only the office intern can reveal. 

Your Paper Crafts Intern,
Sarie Smith

P.S. It’s time to announce the three winners from Jennifer’s 365 Days of Card Making Inspiration post and the three winners from Kelly’s Make a Card a Day post!

Jennifer’s winners:

1. Kaye (Nov. 6, 9:18 a.m.)
2. Peggy W. (Nov. 5, 6:24 p.m.)
3. Sherry D. (Nov. 5, 10:42 a.m.)

Kelly’s winners:

1. Shelly Kettel (Nov. 6, 3:12 p.m.)
2. Diana N. (Nov. 6, 1:57 p.m.)
3. Carla G. (Nov. 6, 7:45 a.m.)

Congrats, winners! You’ve each won a copy of our brand new book A Card a Day! Kelly will be e-mailing you shortly to get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

P.P.S. If you didn’t win a free copy of A Card a Day, there’s still time to receive free shipping on your order! Hurry because this special offer is only good through 5:00 p.m. (EST) today. Click HERE to reserve your copy!

