Cath Edvalson

Cath Edvalson

Paper Crafts has a new family member!

Holly Mills joined us a couple of weeks ago as our new graphic designer and we couldn’t be more thrilled! We’ve been having fun getting to know her and thought it was high time that you got to know her as well.

Read on to learn more about:

  • her two blurry years of chasing boys
  • her favorite guilty pleasure (no, it has nothing to do with the first bullet)
  • how to avoid getting the dreaded stink eye from her

Here she is! Take it away Holly!

Holly Mills

Holly Mills

How did you get from “there” to “here”?

I started my college education a long time ago at Snow College in central Utah. After two blurry years of chasing boys more than course work, I transferred to Weber State University in Ogden, Utah, which is where I finished my education.

My degree is a composite of three minors. I chose Art History, Ethnic Studies and Multimedia with the intention of pursuing more education in Art History and becoming a curator in an art museum. As time passed, however, I realized I enjoyed monkeying around in design software much more than writing 20-30 page papers on the aesthetics of rock art (although I do think there is much value to the subject – it just wasn’t meant for ME to write about it).

My first job after college was working as a production artist for an advertising company. I learned a lot. Perhaps, most importantly, I learned that I wanted to investigate this career further. My next position was as a designer for a company that develops software and training for emergency dispatch centers. I worked in the translation department and did design for training materials in multiple languages. I only speak English. There were new challenges to be conquered, but the type of work was the same and still had my attention. I learned a lot–again.

After a couple of years working under strict and technical design guidelines, I decided it was time to expand my horizons and explore a career with more imagination. I think I’ve landed in the thick of it. Paper Crafts is a hive of creativity. I feel completely out of my element and I’m loving it. Once again I’m encountered with a learning curve, but I couldn’t be more excited to be here for it.

OK. Now that we know your “serious” side, let’s get down to the nitty gritty. How old are you?

31–If you say I still look 16, I will give you the stink eye. 🙂

What’s your favorite comfort food?

Carbs–with a brownie on top (corner piece preferably) and some hot chocolate to wash it down.

What is your favorite movie?

The Bourne Series and When Harry Met Sally

What is your favorite quote?

 “Life is a comedy–you just have to know where to look.” ~Prairie Home Companion

What book are you reading?

 I just finished The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga–it was AWESOME!

In which store would you choose to max out your credit card?

Just one store? I could blow lots of money online at sites like Etsy or Amazon.

What do you do most often when you’re bored?

Catch up on bad wedding TV–I confess Bridezillas is a guilty pleasure of mine–and I blog stalk.

What is one thing most people would be surprised to hear about you?

Other than my age? Perhaps my mischievous side.

Holly was even game to stand on the lobby couch for her close-up. In addition to being mischievious, shes also a little thing!

Holly was even game to stand on the lobby couch for her close-up. Not only is she a little bit mischievous, but she's also a little bitty thing!

Where is the farthest you’ve been from home?

Southeast Asia

Who do you miss the most?

My cat and my dad.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

Cowgirl and champion barrel racer.

What do you want to do with the rest of your life?

In my dream world, I’d like to be a philanthropist. In reality, I’d like to continue discovering and developing new creative outlets. It would be cool if that involved being outside and working on my tan at the same time.

Join me in welcoming our new girl to the team! Holly has agreed to join our blog rotation, so you’ll be hearing from this mischievous, carb-loving, cowgirl every month. Leave Holly some love by midnight (MDT) on Friday, Oct. 23 and I’ll pick three random winners to take home either the Plastino, Super Stud or Camped Out collection from Bella Blvd.

Yours in making a new friend,
Cath

P.S. Our May/June Call for Submissions was sent out yesterday! If you’re in the mood to design some fun summer projects, click HERE to read what we’re looking for!

