Melinda Dann

Melinda Dann

Hello everyone! My name is Melinda Dann and I am the new design intern at Paper Crafts! (Please hold your cheers and applause.)

I must admit that I am a little anxious to be writing a blog post – it’s not something I expected as a “design” intern. Layouts? Sure. Formatting? Absolutely. Blog posts? Scary! But I suppose we all need a little surprise now and then that takes us out of our comfort zone.

Who knows? Perhaps I’ll find a new passion in a new creative outlet. (Or I’ll wish that I paid more attention in high school English…)

On a more serious note, I think a little introduction might be in order. I’m currently studying Graphic Design at the Art Institute in Salt Lake City, though originally I was a Photography major. Several years ago I took a graphics class on a whim and fell in love with it! The next semester I changed my major and have loved every minute. (Well, most of them.) Matt Anderson, the Art Director at Paper Crafts, is one of my teachers (and my new boss here!).

Over the last couple of years I’ve dabbled in scrapbooking, and I always find that I have a lot to learn – especially now as I look at the card designs in past and future magazines. I’m already planning on using some of these ideas in my own paper crafting.

My first impression at Paper Crafts was one of creativity and friendship. There are birthday banners hanging everywhere, and everyone is willing to foster the creative bug and teach me things I may not know. So far, it seems like a great place to work, learn and grow.

It’s exciting to think that the next several weeks hold an amazing amount of new ideas and skills in two areas that I really enjoy. I can’t wait! (Hopefully I won’t miss anything!)

Your new design intern,
Melinda

P.S. It’s time to announce the winners from Susan’s Tips, Tools & Techniques post, Brandy’s Real Women Read Paper Crafts post and Kelly’s Happy National Boss Day post!

Susan’s winner:

1. Yvette F. (Oct. 13, 7:59 p.m.)

Brandy’s winners:

1. Z’s Mommy (Oct. 15, 5:01 p.m.)
2. Jaime (Oct. 15, 11:47 a.m.)

Kelly’s winner:

1. Lillian Child (Oct. 16, 8:26 a.m.)

Congrats, winners! Kelly will be contacting you shortly to discuss your prizes and get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

