Kim Hughes

Kim Hughes

I’m so happy that you’ve joined me for the third and final installment of my “Back to School” blog series. As I continue to share with you ideas on how to use each Paper Crafts magazine, I’d like to touch base on style. I think we all have one, but some are not as easy to recognize as others, as many cross over.

There’s graphic, shabby chic (or vintage), fun and cute and so many more. You might find that you are drawn to the same style that you, yourself create. I think most of us can appreciate a beautiful card in any style.

I pulled out my September/October 2009 issue to find some “style” samples that caught my eye.

Heres Teris clean and graphic Happy Haunting Card.

Here's Teri Anderson's clean and graphic Happy Haunting Card.

I think the pumpkin card created by Teri Anderson is absolutely adorable. It’s clean, graphic and oh SO cute! But let’s see how this card would look if it were made with a shabby chic style in mind, which mostly consists of patterns, distressing, some playful buttons and jute or twine.

And heres my shabby chic Welcome Home card.

And here's my shabby chic Welcome Home card.

I kept Teri’s outstanding color combination and design, but instead of solid cardstock, I replaced those papers with patterned papers. I stamped a pattern onto the base kraft cardstock. You can alter solid papers with stamps, rub-ons or doodles to create your own patterned papers. Make sure that there is a white core if you choose to sand the edges. I changed the topic completely and went with a “welcome home” theme (the possibilities are endless). I find that small, subtle patterns typically work best.

Now let’s change it around and see what a shabby chic card looks like in a graphic style.

Heres Beatriz Jennings shabby chic Happy Halloween Card.

Here's Beatriz Jennings' shabby chic Happy Halloween Card.

“Happy Halloween” created by Beatriz Jennings nailed the shabby chic look. Going graphic means solid, clean lines. Usually some bold black and minimal, simplistic embellishments.

Like Teri’s card, I kept the same design and color combination as Beatriz did on her sweet card. I pulled out my cardstock colors and got to work. (I couldn’t resist using a polka dot cardstock though). I punched holes in the cream cardstock to let the black show through. Circles and dots are very graphic. I substituted the polka dot ribbon for a bold striped one and used bold black letters for the sentiment. I decided to add touches of orange and yellow to draw in my colors.

And heres my clean and graphic Hi Card.

And here's my clean and graphic Hi Card.

If the clean and graphic style appeals to you, why not make a card and enter it in Paper Crafts’ September Gallery Challenge? If you need some inspiration, check out the “Graphically Speaking” feature in the September/October issue. You’ve got until Monday, Sept. 28 to upload your project image HERE.

I hope that I have given you something new to think about. Please take a closer look at each Paper Crafts magazine because they truly offer a fountain of creative inspiration. I appreciate you sharing some of your time with me today. 

Kim Hughes,
Paper Crafts Go-to Gal

P.S. I’d love to hear what card-making style you naturally gravitate towards. Leave a comment and I’ll pick three winners to receive a copy of our September/October issue. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Tuesday, Sept. 22.

P.P.S. It’s time to announce the winner from Kelly’s Freebie Friday – Giving Back post!

Kim M (Sept. 19, 8:03 a.m.)

Congrats, Kim! You’ve won a layout kit designed by Wendy Sue Anderson! Kelly will be contacting you shortly to get your mailing address. Thanks to all who left comments!

