Kim Hughes

Kim Hughes

Thanks for joining me for part two of my “Back to School” blog series! Hopefully you’re learning lots of great tips for making the most out of your Paper Crafts issues.

As I was looking through my latest Stamp it! Cards issue, I was inspired by Jen del Muro’s Happy Mother’s Day Card that’s found on p. 64. I used her card as a launching pad for a simple set.

Happy Mothers Day by Jen del Muro

Happy Mother's Day Card by Jen del Muro

I kept a similar color combination (because I love it!) and created a card, tag and gift bag. I chose two different types of rub-ons for the card and tag and then decided to handwrite “enjoy” to change it up. You can print your text using the same font for a more cohesive look.

Heres my bag, tag and card trio that was inspired by Jens card.

Here's my trio that was inspired by Jen's Happy Mother's Day Card.

I chose to vary the flower accents and the black dotted border as well. The card uses black glitter brads, while the tag uses buttons and the gift bag is adorned with black crystals. Other options include punched black paper dots or eyelets.

Take a look through the issue and make note of certain themes that can be built upon. Why stop at the card when you can go so much further and really knock someone’s socks off!

Then when I saw Laura O’Donnell’s Love You Card on p. 30, I thought of other four-letter words that would work well.

Love You card by Laura ODonnell

Love You Card by Laura O'Donnell

So, let’s take this love-themed card and change it, shall we? I love that Laura chose a non-traditional color combo for her card…definite props for that! I chose the word “Noel”.

Heres by Noel card inspired by Lauras Love You card.

Here's my Noel Card inspired by Laura's Love You card.

Some other words that came to mind were: cute (with a butterfly in the center), hope (with a pink ribbon in the center) and baby (with a safety pin in the center). There are many, many other words that can work, too! This could easily be a window card and fun frames can be added around the main elements. You can stitch/handwrite a border, use letter stickers/die cuts or work with any color combo that speaks to you. 

I hope that you take a closer look at the beautiful projects found within the pages of Stamp It! Cards. Psst…you might want to do it when you have time to create because those creative juices might be flowin’! And I’ll be back next week with another way to utilize your Paper Crafts magazines to their utmost potential.

Thank you Jen and Laura for creating such adorable cards!

Kim Hughes,
Paper Crafts Go-to Gal

P.S. I’d love to hear ways you’ve built upon an existing project. Leave a comment and I’ll pick three winners to receive a copy of Stamp It! Cards. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Tuesday, Sept. 15.

P.P.S. It’s time to announce the winner from Kim Kesti’s It’s My Party post, the winner from Jennifer’s Swap and Swap Alike post and the two winners from Kelly’s Beware of Scary Sentiments post!

Kim’s winner:

Christina (Sept. 11, 12:27 p.m.)

Jennifer’s winner:

Jingle (Sept. 10, 8:07 a.m.)

Kelly’s winners:

1. Jennifer (Sept. 12, 12:14 a.m.)
2. Amy (Sept. 12, 1:12 a.m.)

Congrats, winners! Kelly will be contacting you shortly to discuss your prizes and get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

