P. Kelly Smith

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Freebie Friday! Last week we bid a fond farewell to the last days of summer. And while I always mourn the loss of my flip-flops and snow cones, I know all good things will eventually come around again. So let’s embrace fall and all the colors, smells, textures and yes, even the cool air. For everything there is a season…

And before you know it, little ghosts and goblins will be creeping up your walkway in search of sugary treats for their plastic pumpkin pails. Whenever Halloween rolls around, I always think of my little two-year-old cousin. He’s now a cool dude of 11, but once upon a time he couldn’t pronounce his s’s very well. We were out trick or treating and he saw something that frightened him. He grabbed his mom’s hand and said, “Mommy, that was pooky and cary!” Add the s’s to front of those words and you’ll get what he was trying to say!

If you enjoy celebrating Halloween and paper crafting this “pooky and cary” time of year, we’re here to help! We have some frighteningly fun titles/quotes in the Simple Sentiments column (p. 89) of our September/October 2009 issue. Did you know that you can download every one of them right HERE?

Here’s a few of my favorites:

And because we’re always here to inspire you, look at the cute card our managing editor Brandy made with the “Beware” quote:

Bump in the Night Card by Brandy Jesperson

Bump in the Night Card by Brandy Jesperson

Who doesn’t like free quotes? I guess you could say today’s giveaway is for everyone! For those of you who need real, tangible product to awaken your inner paper goblin, you’re in luck! I have two Halloween collections (Spooked, Night Light) from My Mind’s Eye. Leave a comment telling me your favorite childhood Halloween costume and I’ll randomly pick two winners. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Sunday, Sept. 13.

Happy Downloading,
Kelly

P.S. Today is our former art director’s birthday! Since Halloween is Stace’s favorite time of year, I thought I would share this groovy picture of her:

Would anyone care for one of Staces magic brownies? We dressed up as hippies last year, so her carrying a plateful of brownies actually made sense!

Would anyone care for one of Stace's "magic" brownies? We dressed as hippies last Halloween, so her carrying a plateful of brownies actually made sense!

P.P.S. For those of you attending CKC-Nashville this weekend, make sure you say hi to two of our very own Paper Crafts peeps! Both Susan Neal and Susan Opel will be teaching some fun card classes you won’t want to miss!

