You are currently browsing the daily archive for September 10, 2009.

Jennifer Schaerer

Jennifer Schaerer

We all know about card swaps, and some of us have probably dabbled in recipe swaps, too. I think we all know the version of a flea market that is called a swap meet – you know the saying, right? One man’s trash is another man’s (or woman’s!) treasure.

We also swap ideas all the time – my post about getting ready for the holidays yielded so many cookie recipes and other treat ideas that I’m just bursting while I wait for Christmas to get just a wee bit closer.

Guess what? It’s National Swap Ideas Day today, and we’re going to do just that – swap some ideas! I’m always looking for ways to organize my supplies, or use scraps, or put packaging to use.

Leave me your best idea (or three) for anything relating to organization, scraps or packaging use and we can all swap together!

In the spirit of swapping, here’s my idea – and it’s for organizing my scraps:

I have a legal-sized expandable file (like the one below) for storing my paper and card stock scraps. The key is the legal size, because it’s 14” long and 9” wide – a regular letter sized file is just a hair too small for scraps that are 12” long. I then organize my scraps by color and pattern and grab the whole file when I need to head off to my card swap group.

An expandable legal-sized file like this one from an office supply store is the perfect way to store your paper scraps.

An expandable legal-sized file like this one from an office supply store is the perfect way to store your paper scraps.

I’m sure we’ve got something just amazing to give away to a random commenter, so be sure to toss in your idea by midnight (MDT) on Saturday, Sept. 12 and I’ll pick a winner.

Happy swapping,
Jennifer

P.S. It’s time to announce the winner from Susan’s So Long, Farewell… post and the three winners from Kim Hughes’ Magazine Monday – Back to School post!

Susan’s winner:

Stacy (Sept. 3, 3:39 p.m.)

Kim’s winners:

1. Diana Fischer (Sept. 8, 8:25 a.m.)
2. Margaret (Sept. 8, 9:28 p.m.)
3. Susan C. (Sept. 8, 4:30 p.m.)

Congrats, winners! Kelly will be contacting you shortly to discuss your prizes and get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers