Kim Hughes

Kim Hughes

To me, back to school time means making new friends, reconnecting with old ones and starting a fresh new year. Anything is possible. I admit that I feel a bit like a school girl as I begin my journey as a Paper Crafts Go-to Gal. 

I turn to my Paper Crafts magazines for inspiration whenever I hit a creative wall. Every issue is filled with immeasurable ideas, but let’s not limit ourselves to the beautiful projects within the magazine. I’d love for you to take a closer look.

Holiday Cards & More, Volume 4

Holiday Cards & More, Volume 4

I can say in all honesty that Holiday Cards & More, Volume 4 blew me away. Pure creativity at every turn. How much time do you spend looking at the cover? At first glance, I notice the incredible nutcracker that Jennifer Beason created…seriously, WOW! The time and love that went into that masterpiece is obvious. Secondly, I notice the overall color scheme. It speaks to me. It’s fresh and inviting. I then notice the cuteness of Alli Miles card and how clever Claire Brennan’s tree is, and I am instantly inspired. Lastly, I read what the cover has to say. It offers everything that I want in a magazine and more.

How exactly do I use a cover to motivate my creativity? My favorite place to start is the color scheme. Hot pink, soft pink, some natural browns and beautiful shades of green…yummm.

My Mind’s Eye has a fantastic new collection called Abbey Road. The colors worked perfectly for my project. Even though this is a holiday publication, there’s no reason why I can’t create a card that is perfect for a friend, sister, co-worker, etc. for any occasion. I kept the bold green on the top, like the cover and added a graphic brown stripe in pen to help the colors pop! I pulled the orangy color from the tree’s star and the brown from the nutcracker’s face as well.

Hi There Card by Yours Truly

Here's my Hi There Card.

Another way to spark creativity is to take ideas from each of the featured projects. I decided to pull elements from each one to create my own unique card.

I pulled the stripes from the nutcracker, the clever ribbon triangles and scalloped edge from the tree and I stamped on a white panel and paper pieced the tree circles. I also tied a brown polka dot ribbon around the card. The nutcracker has a whimsical feel to it. I felt the same way about the curly tree, so that’s why I chose that image. I kept a similar color scheme for this card, but next time, I might choose a blue and green color scheme and create a baby card. The possibilities are truly endless.

Heres my Tweet Tweet Card.

And here's my Tweet Tweet Card.

I am thrilled that you joined me today for week one of my “Back to School” blog series. I will be back next week with another way to utilize your Paper Crafts magazines to their utmost potential.

Kim Hughes,
Paper Crafts Go-to Gal

P.S. I’d love to hear ways you’ve been inspired by a Paper Crafts cover. Leave a comment and I’ll pick three winners to receive a copy of Holiday Cards & More, Volume 4. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Wednesday, Sept. 9.

P.P.S. Paper Crafts just launched a new gallery challenge today! If you’re a fan on the clean & graphic look, click HERE to learn more about this fun challenge! And make sure to check back here tomorrow when Cath spotlights clean & graphic cards!

