P. Kelly Smith

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Freebie Friday! I want to thank everyone for all of their sweet comments to our departing Paper Crafts Pros. They are a talented bunch of ladies and they will be sorely missed! It’s a good thing we’ll still see their creativity from time to time – both in future issues and at Creating Keepsakes Conventions. If you haven’t ever taken a CKC class from one of these crafty gals, you’re definitely missing out! Click HERE to see if one is coming to a city near you!

I hope everyone is looking forward to our upcoming Labor Day weekend. Labor Day is always a bittersweet holiday for me. While I love all the sights and smells of fall, when Labor Day arrives, I know summer is officially over. The kids all go back to school, the nights gets increasingly darker and the autumn chill starts to creep in. I guess that’s why I try to make the most of June, July and August… I know these warm, magical months will fade just as quickly as they arrived.

I just returned from glorious week up in the mountains of McCall, Idaho. I sort of hinted to my grandma that a girls week would be a lot fun (and a great way to use up my vacation days). Never the subtle one, my grandma then took the reins and approached my aunt (who actually owns the beautiful condo on the picturesque lake). Lucky for us the condo was available, so my grandma, aunt, mom, sister and dog (she’s a girl, too!) all made the trek up to our little piece of heaven on earth.

By day: we swam, kayaked, water skied and soaked up the sun.

By day: we swam, kayaked, water-skied and soaked up the sun.

By night: we took moonlit boat rides!
By night: we took moonlit boat rides!

And since it was a girls retreat, we even found time to paper craft! My aunt found these metal advertising signs at a dollar store and then spray-painted them with black chalkboard paint. We cut out circles from patterned paper and adhered them to glass pebbles to create magnets. Since I LOVE to fussy cut, I cut out some pretty flowers and adhered them to the bottom of the board. Add some pretty ribbon, Thickers to spell “Memo” and you’ve got an adorable magnet board ready to hang!

Can you guess what crafty activity well be doing for our September card group?

These magnet boards are so easy to make! Can you guess what fun activity we'll be doing at our card group this month?

I’d love to hear how you spent your summer! Did you travel? Pick up a new hobby? Leave me a comment and I’ll pick two winners to receive this summer-infused prize package from Cosmo CricketAll comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Labor Day (Monday, Sept. 7).

Two lucky winners will each take home this fun prize package!

Two lucky winners will each take home this fun prize package!

Here’s to the last days of summer!
Kelly

P.S. It’s time to announce the winner from Brandy’s Are You Funny? post and the three winners from Alisa’s A BIG Thank You post!

Brandy’s winner:

Megan (September 1, 8:29 a.m.)

Alisa’s winners:

1. Kathy W. (September 3, 9:24 a.m.)
2. Stephanie Smith (September 3, 7:30 a.m.)
3. Char-D (September 3, 11:05 a.m.)

Congrats, winners! I’ll be e-mailing you shortly to get your mailing addresses and discuss your prizes. Thanks to all who left comments!

