Brandy Jesperson

Brandy Jesperson

I’ve never fancied myself a funny person. Occasionally I’ll come up with a good zinger, but these moments are typically rare and far between. That being said, I love to laugh! I love watching silly slapstick movies and listening to other people’s stories of humorous hysteria. Since my personal funny bone seems to be a bit underdeveloped, I was particularly nervous about my assignment for card group last month. Ms. P.K. asked us to come with funny birthday cards – yikes!   

I decided to rely on most people’s fear of clowns and my love of vintage images. Here’s what I came up with: 

Fear of Clowns Card by Yours Truly

Fear of Clowns Card by Yours Truly

Okay, so I admit it isn’t roll on the floor funny, but it has a certain charm… doesn’t it? Luckily, the laughs didn’t end with our cards. All of us had a wonderful evening giggling, eating and transforming gift bags into works of art. Here’s a sampling of the cute birthday-themed gift bags we worked on:

If you give them gift bags, they will decorate them!

If you give them gift bags, they will decorate them!

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, I’d like to encourage all of you to find a group of ladies you love and start a card group! It’s so much fun and a great way to stretch your creativity. Plus, you get to spend one night a month with amazing ladies like this:

Arent we a cute bunch?! FYI: Jennifer had a old high school visiting from Wisconsin. Her name is Kelly and she shares the exact same birthday as our P. Kelly!

Aren't we a cute bunch?! In case any of you are mesmerized by the warm color of Jennifer's dining room walls, she used Behr's Hidden Honey paint.

The very generous P. Kelly has agreed to donate a few gift bags just for YOU! So leave a comment telling us your favorite funny sentiment for a card. We’ll randomly select one winner to receive a selection of birthday-themed gift bags. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Wednesday, Sept. 2. 

Laughin’ it up,
Brandy

P.S. Welcome to September! Did you know that September is… Self Improvement Month, Be Kind to Editors and Writers Month (my personal favorite!), International Square Dance Month, Cable TV Month, National Bed Check Month, National Chicken Month, National Courtesy Month, National Honey Month, National Mind Mapping Month, National Piano Month, National Rice Month, National Papaya Month and Classical Music Month.

