Wendy Johnson, Founding Paper Crafts Pro

Wendy Johnson

‘Tis the season for ribbons, paper galore and homemade gifts tied up in pretty things! As we celebrate an early Christmas this week on the ol’ Paper Crafts blog, I’m excited to share with you a tag I created for this very fun special issue that is overflowing with amazing holiday creations. 

The little diddy shown below and featured in Holiday Cards & More, Vol. 4 was made with love from the super cute KI Memories collection, “Festive.” I love the bright colors and whimsical design that captures the fun side of the holiday season, and I’d love to give away a set of this collection along with a copy of this extra special holiday issue. Just leave me a comment by Friday, August 28 at midnight MDT and I’ll choose three winners.

Christmas Heart Tag (p. 106)

I can’t believe that we’re already gearing up for this season and all that it brings. It seems that every season sneaks up on us whether we are prepared for it or not! I also know that along with the seasons of fall, winter, summer and spring, there comes other seasons in our lives… all of which serve a purpose and shape who we are. I love this little reminder that is perched on my mantle that helps me remember that there truly is a season and time for every purpose in our lives. 

This lovely quote greets me each and every day.

Six years ago, seeds were planted during a time of my life that has grown and flourished and become one of my most bountiful seasons. Those seeds were planted in the rich soil of Paper Crafts and I’m so grateful for the opportunity to have grown and flourished within the pages of this magazine, as they themselves grew from a single issue. I was there in the beginning and have thoroughly enjoyed this little season of my life. My greatest accomplishment has come within the pages of The Joy of Card Making and The Joy of Card Making: A Second Helping special issues.

I’m so grateful for Valerie Pingree and Jennafer Martin for their vision and belief in me as we worked together to bring you little card recipes for you to use in your card making. I will never forget the late night hours with two sleeping little ones tucked in their beds, as I worked on sketches and cards to share with you, our beloved readers. After the success of both issues, I was then asked to become a Paper Crafts Pro and continued to share with you my love and passion for paper crafting each month. I have also traveled across the country to Canada and even on a Caribbean Cruise to teach eager students who are ready to learn and share in this amazing hobby! 

As this season of my life comes to a close, I can’t say goodbye without saying thank you to those that have helped shape my life during this season…

  • Valerie Pingree – who saw something in me the very first day and captured the vision of The Joy of Card Making from the first moment she laid eyes on it. I owe this all to you!
  • Jennafer Martin – oh, how I have missed her! The e-mails and phone calls over the years as we worked together on The Joy of Card Making series and other special issues when she was managing editor of Paper Crafts.  Jennafer, you are one of the most amazing and influential women in the editorial department and I’m so proud to have worked with you. You deserve your new title more than ANYONE, and I’m a better person for having known you!
  • Nichole Heady – we became Paper Crafts Pro buddies from the very beginning. We’ve shared moments of laughter and late night talks as we discussed everything from our children, snakes that roam her Tennessee backyard and the latest and greatest in paper, ribbon and stamps. I’m so proud of you and your risk to make your dreams come true… Papertrey Ink. I love ya, friend!
  • Alisa Bangerter – There isn’t anyone that is more genuine, honest and sincere than this dear friend. Alisa, you are so very talented and I’m so proud of you! I love watching your segments on KSL as you have taken flight in your own new adventures. I will be the first in line to buy your book… so you better get it written!
  • Melissa Phillips – Seriously, can there be anyone sweeter than you?! Oh, sweet Melissa, how I love ya, girlie! You are THE MOST talented gal I know and best little mommy! Thank you for always being there, listening to me and being a part of this season in my life!
  • Sue Neal – If you haven’t taken a class from Sue, then you are truly missing out! She is one of the best teachers I know and is so full of life. I’m so glad we share some Idaho roots and that we have become such good friends! Best of luck with your cute card kits and I’ll see you at the conventions!
  • Stacy Croninger – There was no one better to take the helm of Paper Crafts after Valerie stepped down than you! I have missed your Laffy Taffy jokes and fun sense of humor! I’m so grateful that you are still a part of this huge family and that I get to see you at the Creating Keepsakes Conventions… I’m such a lucky gal!
  • Cath Edvalson – There really aren’t any words to adequately describe this amazing lady! We have spent several years working together and I have learned so much from her! Cath, I will never forget when you told me you had an “emotional reaction” over a picture frame I created years ago… that is my greatest compliment from you. Thank you!
  • Brenda Peterson – The glue that holds the entire Paper Crafts family together. I have worked with Brenda since that very first day and she is still here to keep everyone going! Thank you for your hard work and making sure I get paid!
  •  Jennifer, Brandy, Kelly and Susan – The rest of the gals that round out the amazing editorial staff of Paper Crafts magazine. Although our time spent together was very short, I’m so grateful that I have had the opportunity to have known and worked with you. Brandy, thank you for your wonderful home where we met many times to brainstorm, laugh and enjoy good food! Kelly, you have taken the blogging world by fire and you are amazing with what you do. Susan, you have added a whole other element to this family… thank you for your presence and hard work! Jennifer – everyone is in good hands with you leading the team. Thank you for your help and understanding during very difficult times.
  • Paper Crafts Loyal Readers – all I can say is… thank you. Thank you for your loyal support every month as you read the pages of this amazing magazine. We all love you!

As with every season in our lives, when one comes to a close, another one begins to come to life. And so it is with my own little journey in life. Although my season with Paper Crafts magazine has come to a close, I’m beyond excited and thrilled for my new season that is just beginning to sprout. As the new Education Coordinator for Piggy Tales, I will be designing classes and traveling across the country doing what I love the very most… teaching! I will also be designing projects galore through our monthly kit club, PTA, and many other assignments and adventures that are about to unfold. So, drop by our web site and you will be able to continue to see me in all that Piggy Tales has to offer… you don’t want to miss out!

And last, but not least, I must thank my sweet husband. He was there that very first day when I had the idea to submit my work. He has encouraged me every step of the way, washed dishes, mopped floors and wiped runny noses from two little faces when I have been buried in deadlines! If it weren’t for him, my dreams would have never come true! I love you, babe!

May we each remember that there truly is a “season and a time to every purpose” as we each journey through life… may you live each season that comes your way to the very fullest!

Wendy, Founding Paper Crafts Pro

P.S. If you’re a new reader and interested in learning more about The Joy of Card Making special issues, we’re currently offering a “Buy One, Get One” sale. If you buy the first volume, you’ll get “A Second Helping” for FREE! Click HERE to reserve your copies today!

