P. Kelly Smith

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Magazine Monday and day one of Holiday Cards & More Week! As I mentioned last Friday, we’ve once again teamed up with Cath and her Moxie Fab World blog to celebrate our latest and greatest special issue: Holiday Cards & More, Volume 4!

On sale tomorrow, this festive magazine features nearly 300 holiday projects for everyone on your list. And since Christmas is only 123 days away (yikes!), we know you need to get started on those holiday cards. This year we added more pages to the cards section, so you now have over 100 designs to jumpstart your imagination!

Each day this week we’ll be spotlighting projects from this merry magazine, as well as giving away some fantastic prizes (including free issues of Holiday Cards & More!). As always, make sure you check back with us for our grand Freebie Friday giveaway.

Between now and Friday, you can buy HCM, Vol. 4 for 10% off. Click on the magazine image to reserve your copy today!

Between now and Friday, you can buy HCM, Vol. 4 for 10% off. Click on the magazine image to reserve your copy today!

Today we’ll be spotlighting the talented Jennifer Beason, who is the creator of the gorgeous nutcracker that appears on the cover. Can you believe this is her first published project in Paper Crafts?! When we first set eyes on this little piece of holiday heaven, we just knew it had to appear in THIS magazine. And truthfully, it wasn’t hard to pick it as one of our three cover projects. Who wouldn’t want this jovial little guy in their home around the holidays?

So without further ado, let’s get to know Jennifer Beason!

Jennifer Beason

Jennifer Beason

1. Where did you grow up? 

I grew up in England and then moved to Florida with my family when I was 16.

2. Do you work outside the home? If so, what do you do?

No, I’m lucky enough to be a stay-at-home mom.

3. If a movie were to be made of your life, who would you cast to play the part of you?

I would cast Jada Pinkett-Smith. We don’t look anything alike, but I’ve always loved her.

4. What song would you choose as the theme song for your life?

“This is Heaven to Me” by Madeleine Peyroux.

5. What is one thing most people would be surprised to hear about you?

I’m not sure… maybe that I’m only five feet tall.

6. What/who inspired you to start paper crafting?

I’d have to say my kids. After my daughter was born, I began scrapbooking all of the photos I had taken of her. I then started making cards, and now I’m doing altered projects as well.

7. What is your biggest paper crafting challenge?

Not having enough time!!!

8. If you were only allowed two items to create a card beside cardstock and adhesive, what would they be?

A knife and patterned paper.

9. What is your favorite occasion or holiday to paper craft and why?

I love to decorate my home at Christmas time with things that I’ve made. I also enjoy making gifts for my friends and family. Christmas is the perfect time for homemade gifts.

Heres Jennifers Festive Nutcracker that can be found on p. 133 of HCM.

Jennifer's Festive Nutcracker can be found on p. 133 of Holiday Cards & More.

10. How would you describe your style? 

Playful and fun!

11.When is your favorite time to craft?

Late at night… when the family is asleep.

12. What sort of music do you listen to while crafting?

Anything soft and mellow – Sade, Madeleine Peyroux and Melody Gardot are some of my favorites.

13. How does your family participate in your paper crafting passion?

They give me great ideas, especially the kids. Both of my younger kids enjoy making crafts, so I have a specific area in my craft room just for them. We are now able to work together.

14. When it comes to calls and deadlines, how do you keep yourself organized?

I have one of those huge desk calendars hanging up in my craft room. I write down all the calls that I want to try out, along with all my assignments. This way I can see at a glance what’s due and when.

15. Do you remember what Paper Crafts issue your first project appeared in? How has your style changed since then?

My nutcracker was the first to be published in your magazine. My style really hasn’t changed much. However, I’m consistently trying to improve my technique.

16. Have you contributed to any design teams in the past or present? If so, which ones?

I have been on the following design teams: 

One Heart One Mind, Eyelets Etc. and Helmar USA. Currently, I am on the Pink Paislee design team.

17. Name three designers whose styles you like and why they appeal to you.  

  • Danielle Flanders – she has a knack for making everything she creates simply gorgeous. 
  • Linda Albrecht– her work is beautifully detailed. I saw some of her altered projects at the recent CHA in Orlando, FL. I’m definitely a fan for life. 
  • Rachelle Anne Miller’s illustration style really inspires me because it’s so whimsical and cute.

18. Do you have any advice/tips for someone who’s never been published or who wants to submit for the first time?

Just go for it! What you create may be just what the magazine is looking for. You won’t know unless you try.

19. What was the inspiration for your nutcracker that appears in Holiday Cards and More? How long did it take you to create it? Any tips for people who want to recreate it? 

The patterned paper was actually the inspiration for the piece. I was planning to make something different. Then the pattern in one of the papers started to look like a beard to me. I had the nutcracker laying around, so I started playing around with it. It took me a while to make, over the course of several days, and between other projects. One tip I would offer is to try and avoid covering large areas of the nutcracker with paper all at once. Use small sections of patterned paper instead.

20. Do you have a blog or online gallery? If so, please provide the URL.

I do have a blog (www.jenniwren32.blogspot.com). Please hop on over!

Thanks, Jennifer! Our friends at Pink Paislee were nice enough to donate three sets of their Tinsel Town collection – the same collection Jennifer used to create her nutcracker above. Please leave a comment below and I’ll pick three random winners to receive this collection, plus a copy of Holiday Cards & More, Volume 4. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Tuesday, August 25.

Three lucky winners will take home this holiday-infused prize package!

Three lucky winners will take home this holiday-infused prize package!

P.S. Because I’m feeling so jolly, I just had to share a couple more projects from the home decor section of Holiday Cards & More. It looks like hot pink and lime green are going to be the “it” colors this holiday season!

Heres Davinie Fieros All Hearts Come Home Frame (p. 132).

Davinie Fiero's All Hearts Come Home Frame (p. 132)

Claire Brennans Christmas Tree (p. 135 and on the cover!)

Claire Brennan's Christmas Tree (p. 135)

Are visions of sugar plums dancing in your head? If not, head on over to Moxie Fab World for some more holiday inspiration. And make sure you check back with us tomorrow as Jennifer spotlights the gifts section of Holiday Cards & More, Volume 4!

Kelly

P.P.S. It’s time to announce the two winners from Susan’s Tips, Tools, & Techniques Trivia post, the winner from Brandy’s Memories Made post and the two winners from my Holiday Cards & More Week post! Here they are in no particular order:

Susan’s winners:

1. Jenn Coker (August 18, 10:15 a.m.)
2. Sue Blondin (August 19, 5:27 a.m.)

Brandy’s winner:

Jamie Greene (August 20, 6:46 a.m.)

My winners:

1. Nancy L. (August 21, 10:41 a.m.)
2. Leslie (August 21, 11:42 a.m.)

Congrats, winners! I’ll be e-mailing you shortly to get your mailing addresses and discuss your prizes. Thanks to all who left comments!

