P. Kelly Smith

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Magazine Monday! Two weeks ago, Nicole, one of our readers, left this comment on Brandy’s Finding New Friends post:

“I’m not sure if this has been done before I started following the blog, but I would love to see a tour of the Paper Crafts office. I do remember seeing a picture of the lobby a few months back, but a photo tour would be cool.”

Well, Nicole, your wish is my command! Sit back and enjoy “walking” through the hallways of 14850 Pony Express Rd. We’ll also show you pictures of each team member’s cubicle or office. We have them decorated a little differently, so we’ll share why we have what we have and why we love it. That made sense, right?

Heres the front of our office building. The flowers are still blooming!

Here's the front of our office building. The flowers are still blooming!

Heres what you see when your first walk in our lobby. Last year our lobby got a little makeover. With IKEA literally in our backyard, it was a no brainer.

Here's what you see when your first walk through our doors. Our lobby got a little makeover last year. With IKEA literally in our backyard, it was a no brainer.

Heres what on the other side of the lobby. The digital picture frame constantly cycles through pictures of us, the Creating Keepsakes team and others in our building.

Here's what's on the other side of the lobby. The digital frame constantly cycles through pictures of us, the Creating Keepsakes team and others in our building.

If you take a right youll see a long hallway that houses pictures of all of our covers over the years.

If you take a right from the lobby, you'll see a long hallway that houses pictures of all our magazine covers. It's amazing to walk down it and see how far we've come!

Since were on this side of the building, Ill take you into our storage room. Here we store all of our magazines, supplies, Christmas decorations, etc.

Since we're on this side of the building, I'll take you into our storage room. Here we store all of our surplus magazines, supplies, Christmas decorations, etc.

The storage room also houses designers projects that have already been photographed in the studio and are waiting to be mailed back.

The storage room also holds designers' projects that have been photographed in the studio and are waiting to be mailed back.

Now lets take a quick peek into our warehouse. Not very tidy, but it definitely serves its purpose. In addition to being a very large storage room for all departments, packages are shipped and received here.

Now let's take a quick peek into our warehouse. Not very tidy, but it definitely serves its purpose. In addition to being a very large storage room for all departments, packages are shipped and received here.

Now lets go eat! Off to the break room we go... Here we eat our lunches, conduct company-wide meetings and pick up our mail.

Now let's go eat! Off to the break room we go... Here we eat our lunches, conduct company-wide meetings and pick up our mail.

This is the free table. It sits in the break room and whatever is on it is up for grabs. I once made the mistake of setting down some sweepstakes product while I grabbed a glass of water. Youve never seen so many women go crazy!

This is the "free table". It sits in the break room and anything on it is up for grabs. I once made the mistake of setting down some sweepstakes product while I grabbed a glass of water. You've never seen so many grown women go crazy!

With our bellies full, its time to go back to work. Lets head down this hallway to Jennifers office. On this wall youll see all of our black and white headshots.

With our bellies full, it's time to go back to work. Let's head down this hallway to Jennifer's office. On this wall you'll see all of our black and white headshots.

And here we are in Jennifers office. Hold for a minute while Jennifer applies a fresh coat of tinted lip gloss. (I did the exact same thing!)

And here we are in Jennifer's office. Hold for a minute while Jennifer applies a fresh coat of tinted lip gloss. (I did the exact same thing, so don't judge!)

Jennifer loves the color green, so this is her little green oasis. She even liked this piece of patterned paper so much, she even framed it!

Jennifer loves the color green, so this is her little green oasis.

Why Jennifer Loves Her Office Space: 

“I think the most obvious part of my office is the wall color – Crisp Celery (by Behr) is the color name. It’s a warm yellowish green that was inspired by my love of anything green and also by this particular patterned paper that is now framed and hanging on my wall:

The color green is known for being a restful and natural influence, providing balance and healing to surroundings. Almost everyone who comes into my office comments on how bright and happy it feels, and I even find myself studying the color as it changes with the light throughout the day.”

Right next door is Matts office. He was just promoted to art director and as you can see, hes taking his new responsibilities very seriously!

Right next door is Matt's office. He was recently promoted to art director and as you can see, he's taking his new responsibilities very seriously!

Matt really is just a big kid. Even though hes only been in his office a couple of weeks, hes already lined up his prized Star Wars figurines.

Matt really is just a big kid. Even though he's only been in his office two weeks, he's already lined up his prized Star Wars figures. May the force be with you, Matt!

Why Matt Loves His Office Space:
 
“Well, seeing that I just moved from cube to an office, I like having four walls around me. I feel I can concentrate more and focus on the project at hand.”
On the other side of Jennifers office is our beloved Brighton conference room. All the conference rooms here are named after Utah ski resorts. We have Brighton, Sundance and Alta (although Alta went away to become someones office!). Here we hold all of our concepting and submission judging meetings, as well as our weekly staff meeting called Rendezvous.

On the other side of Jennifer's office is our Brighton conference room. All the conference rooms are named after Utah ski resorts. There's Brighton, Sundance and Alta (although Alta went away to become someone's office!). Here we hold all of our concepting and submission judging meetings, as well as our staff meeting called Rendezvous. Looks like someone needs to clean the white board!

Now lets go back down the hall to Brandys office. She decided to paint her walls a soft, buttery yellow.

Now let's go back down the hall to Brandy's office. She decided to paint her walls a soft, buttery yellow. The rose picture is from IKEA. And yes, it's always this neat!

Heres a close-up view of some items in Brandys bookcase.

Here's a close-up view of some items in Brandy's bookcase.

Why Brandy Loves Her Office Space:

“My office doesn’t have any windows, so the first thing I did before I moved in was paint two of the walls a soft yellow. This helps bring the sunshine in even on the dreariest of days. I don’t work well in a messy or cluttered environment, so everything in my office is neat and tidy. My magazines are stored in chronological order in matching holders. I have two magnetic boards from IKEA (love that store!) that are used to display cards from designers, magazine covers in progress and little mementos. My office is often the storing place for projects while I’m preparing assignments for writers and final editing. To keep the chaos to a minimum, I have lots of empty shelves that can easily be filled with totes and binders. I’ve found that using the vertical space around me keeps my desk and floor clutter-free and in turn keeps me sane in a sea of cards, gift wraps and home décor items!”

From Brandys office, we walk down an aisle that houses the rest of our cubicles. We first stop at Caths cube.

From Brandy's office, we walk down an aisle that houses the rest of our cubicles. We first stop at Cath's cube, aka Ms. Edvalson. As a former teacher, she still uses her teacher voice every now and then to keep us in line.

 
Why Cath Loves Her Office Space:
 
“What I love most is the wall of ephemera in my cube. I have trinkets from shows, cards that have been sent by industry friends and photos that I’ve accumulated over the four years that I’ve been here at Paper Crafts.”
  
Behind Cath sits Susan. Like Brandy, Susan is very tidy, too. And she LOVES the color orange!

Behind Cath sits Susan. Susan is also very tidy. And she loves the color orange!

Heres a few of Susans favorite things. See what I mean about the color orange!

Here's a few of Susan's favorite things. See what I mean about the color orange!

Why Susan Loves Her Office Space: 

 
“The obvious thing that I love about my cube is its juicy orangeness. Orange is my favorite color, and I try to incorporate it in as many ways as possible from scissors, file folders and push pins to monograms, storage bins and flowers. It’s an awfully happy little space to read, write and create! I’ve also peppered my work area with fun photos and memorabilia from my teaching days as well as things I’ve picked up while working for Paper Crafts magazine. I definitely like to keep things neat and tidy in my area!” 

Next on our tour is my cube. I sit right across from Susan and behind Brenda.

Next on our tour is my little cube. I sit right across from Susan and behind Brenda.

My favorite wall is this one. I, too, collect quotes, cards, pictures, etc.

Here's my wall of memorabilia. Like Cath, I also collect quotes, cards, pictures, etc.

Why I Love My Office Space:
 
“I have a wall of memorabilia that greets me each and every day. Here I store all of the memories I have created at Paper Crafts. A lot of the larger pictures are ones where our former graphic designer Photoshopped my face on some famous actresses’ bodies. So far in my career I’ve played Vivien Leigh in Gone With the Wind and Jennifer Lopez in The Wedding Planner. And yes, that’s a REAL autographed picture of Matthew McConaughey sitting on my desk. Now you know where all my inspiration comes from!”
And last on our tour is Brendas cube. Its been said many times before, but she is the glue that keeps us together. If you have a question, just ask Brenda!

And last on our tour is Brenda's cube. It's been said before, but she is the glue that keeps us together. If you have a question, just ask Brenda!

Heres what inspires Brenda... her three cute kids!

Here's what inspires Brenda... her three cute kids!

Why Brenda Loves Her Office Space:

“I love my little corner of the office called my cube. It is my home away from home. I have collected little momentos along the way that remind me of fun events we have celebrated here at Paper Crafts. My favorite is my collection of little crafts that we have done throughout the years, most recently our name plates.”

Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed your three-hour tour of the Paper Crafts office. Remember to collect all personal belongings, exit carefully from the bus and tip your driver generously!

See ya around the water cooler!
Kelly

P.S. It’s time to announce the two winners from Jennifer’s Foot Stompin’ Enthusiasm post and the three winners from my Got Vintage post! Here they are in no particular order:

Jennifer’s winners:

1. Kelly (August 14, 5:56 p.m.)
2. Erika (August 13, 2:27 p.m.)

My winners:

1. Steph (August 14, 9:04 p.m.)
2. Katie M (August 14, 8:06 a.m.)
3. Sherry Campbell (August 14, 9:01 a.m.)

Congrats, winners! I’ll be e-mailing you shortly to get your mailing addresses and discuss your prizes. Thanks to all who left comments!

