P. Kelly Smith

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Freebie Friday! Has everyone found some time to paper craft this week? I myself will be spending the weekend making two sets of cards (20 total!) for our upcoming card group. Like many of you, I often struggle with “Where do I begin?” With so many pretty papers and endless embellishments, I often spend more time conceptualizing than creating. And while that’s important, I’d much rather be “playing” than “thinking”.

Lucky for me (and all of you!), our fabulous creative editor Cath Edvalson just returned from the CHA trade show with her top picks for products and trends. If you didn’t get a chance to read her CHA Trends by the Dozen post this week, it will definitely whet your paper crafting appetite!

And while Cath cited a dozen tasty trends, she said the runaway hit of the show was the vintage look. We recently featured this timeless trend in our July/August 2009 issue. I love the fact that people are now incorporating antique lace, buttons, ticket stubs, game pieces, costume jewelry and a million other priceless finds into their paper crafting. It really gives a whole new meaning to the word recycling!

And for those of you who scrapbook, there’s finally a plethora of vintage product to complement those heirloom family photos. Here’s a few of my favorites from the Smith family vault:

My great-grandmother Ruth Turner Smith. She was born January 1, 1900.

My great-grandmother Ruth Turner Smith. She was born January 1, 1900.

Here she is a few years later with her husband and two young sons. The youngest is my grandpa.

Here she is a few years later with her husband and two young sons. The youngest is my grandpa.

That little baby grew up to marry my grandma (seen here) with my uncle, aunt and dad (far right). Circa 1963.

That little baby grew up to marry my grandma, seen here with my uncle, aunt and dad (far right). Circa 1963.

Aren’t these photos amazing? Last year my grandma went through all of her old photo albums and slides and put close to 1200 pictures on CD’s. She then gave one to each member of the family for Christmas. What a memorable gift!

Are you ready for today’s vintage-inspired giveaway? If the vintage trend is one that speaks to you, leave a comment telling me why. I’ll pick three random winners to receive either Graphic 45’s Playtimes Past, Botanicabella or Times Nouveau collection. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Sunday, August 16. I’ll announce the three winners on Monday’s blog.

Three winners will take home one of these fantastic vintage collection from Graphic 45.

Three winners will each win one of these vintage collections from Graphic 45.

Here to making old new again!
Kelly

P.S. It’s time to announce the winners from Cath’s CHA Trends by the Dozen post and Kim’s My Creative Process post! Here they are:

Cath’s winner:

Jing-Jing (August 11, 10:42 a.m.)

Kim’s winner:

Lindsay (August 12, 8:36 a.m.)

Congrats, ladies! I’ll be e-mailing you shortly to get your mailing addresses and discuss your prizes. Thanks to all who left comments!

