Kim Kesti

Kim Kesti

Since you’ll be hearing from all the new Go-to Gals in the coming months, I though it would be fun to share a little bit about my creative process, a bit about “me”. I’ll be asking you about your process later, so keep that in mind.

Almost invariably, I reach for embellishments first when I start my card making process. Sometimes I am inspired by a fancy sticker, sometimes a great piece of chipboard, and other times by a pretty flower. Today, it was a “to die for” pack of felt Woolies from BasicGrey.

I chose several colors cardstock that matched the Woolies and grabbed a few buttons, too.

I don’t always use patterned paper, but in this case I had a great piece of matching paper that also had a small scale print (which is great for cards), so I added that to the pile.

Step three is the easiest. I decided to make four coordinating cards, so I cut all the card bases the same and creased them to size with a bone folder. Done.

Next came the fun part. I was intrigued by the scallops on the Woolies, so I pulled out a few of my newer dies that feature scallops, outlines and journaling blocks. I cut a bunch to experiment with.

Now, I begin to assemble my cards. I’m having a blast at this point, merrily matching up colors and shapes. Then the dreaded happens…I realize that I forgot to plan out my sentiments. Sentiments are my biggest challenge. At this point I can cop out and pretend these are supposed to be blank note cards, or I can dig into my drawers and see what I can find.

I don’t have any decent rubs, but I do have a pretty good supply of rubber stamps. I should rename them “lifesavers”. So, I grab my brown ink pad and a brown journaling pen and finish up my cards.

Here are the four cards, stamped and outlined.

That pretty sums up my creative process. What about yours? Where do you start? What challenges do you face? Leave me a comment answering any of these questions and I’ll put you in a drawing to win these cards! Let’s spread the creativity around, gals.

I’ll choose a winner by midnight (MST) on Thursday, August 13th, so post a comment before then.

Happy Crafting!
Kim, Paper Crafts Pro

