P. Kelly Smith

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Magazine Monday! Can you believe summer is almost over? I swear it just seemed like June the other day. I guess all good things must come to an end. Even fun vacations in paradise!

Last month I had the opportunity to join my mom and grandma in San Diego for a little R&R. (I swear summer exists here all year round!) One beautiful night we were invited over to my mom’s cousin’s home for dinner. While we were dining under the stars (and next to their lemon trees!), I got to talking with Sandra’s ten-year-old granddaughter Kayla. When I told that I worked for a card magazine, her little eyes lit up like it was Christmas morning. I guess Kayla is known for making cards for special occasions like birthdays and Father’s Day. Gallery Idol was going on then, so I got on her grandma’s computer and showed her this blog and some of the entries (I believe it was button week). She immediately printed them out and went around showing everyone all the pretty cards from “my” magazine. Clearly this child was hooked!

Seeing an opportunity to mold a promising young mind, I told her that I would send her a copy of Paper Crafting with Kids when I returned to the office. When I explained it was a magazine full of paper crafting ideas for kids, her eyes, once again, glazed over with glee.

Heres a picture of Kayla and me. Could she be any cuter?

Kayla's grandma snapped this picture of her and me before we said goodbye. Could she be any cuter?

As promised, I sent Kayla her magazine and I threw in some miscellaneous product. About a week later I received this e-mail from her grandma:

Dear Kelly,

Just a quick note to thank you for sending the wonderful surprise package to Kayla! When I walked in their front door yesterday morning, she was about to bust all her buttons to get me into their family room to show me what you had sent. She was one very excited young girl! She had her “craft table” set up in the middle of the room and was already busily crafting new cards, etc. And this was only 7:00 a.m.! The floor was covered with bits of paper, so I have to assume she had been hard at work for sometime prior to my arrival!

Again, thank you!
Sandra

And then about week later, I received a thank you from Kayla in the form of a handmade card. (Clearly button week made quite an impression!)

Pink and Green Thank You Card by Kayla Marchand.

Floral Thank You Card by Kayla Marchand.

And there was a sweet message inside thanking me “so so so much” for her care package. Apparently she had already read the magazine cover to cover!

And so the addiction begins… I take full responsibility for leading Kayla down the slippery slope of  6 a.m. paper crafting. At least she now knows there’s a huge support group out there!

Here’s to the creative kiddos!
Kelly

P.S. It’s time to announce the three winners from my Freebie Friday – September/October I-Spy post and the two winners from Susan’s Travelin’ Adventures of a Paper Crafts Editor post! Here they are in no particular order:

My winners:

1. Lindzie H (August 7, 1:08 p.m.)
2. Tanya T (August 7, 8:29 a.m.)
3. Betty Lou (August 8, 11:26 a.m.)

Susan’s winners:

1. Denise Schnarr (August 7, 8:26 p.m.)
2. Ann (August 6, 2:31 p.m.)

Congrats, winners! I’ll be e-mailing you shortly to get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

