P. Kelly Smith

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Magazine Monday! Today we’re spotlighting our fabulous 2009 Gallery Idol winner Rae Barthel! Just announced last Friday, the shock of it all is still sinking in, but Rae certainly had a mouthful to say on her own blog. I think my favorite expletive of hers was “holy guacamole”. Pretty much the two greatest words ever uttered. And now I’m hungry for Mexican food! When’s lunch?

Besides a talented card maker, Rae has always been one of Paper Crafts’ biggest cheerleaders, so it’s a huge honor for me to return the favor and wave my pom poms high in the air for the one and only

R-A-E  B-A-R-T-H-E-L!

Shall we get to know our newest Gallery Idol winner a little better?

Rae Barthel

Rae Barthel

1. Full name: Rae Ann Barthel

2. Hometown: I grew up in McHenry, Illinois, a far northwest suburb of Chicago. Our family relocated to Huntsville, Alabama five years ago.

3. Do you work outside the home?

No, unless yard work and coaching sports counts. 😉

4. If a movie were to be made of your life, who would you cast to play the part of you?

Well, first I would have to convince Janet Evanovich to write the screenplay, then I would cast the smart, yet quirky, Sandra Bullock to play the lead.

5. What song would you choose as the theme song for your life?

Forever Young” by Bob Dylan

6. What is one thing most people would be surprised to hear about you?

I am a VERY picky eater; there is a growing list of foods that no longer agree with me, and many that I don’t agree with!

7. What/who inspired you to start paper crafting?

My passion for paper crafting was born out of necessity… six years ago my husband was deployed to Iraq. I had a newborn, a toddler, a six-year-old and zero patience for browsing through the greeting card aisle at the store to select cards for our large extended family. The light bulb went on when I cut apart my nephew’s birthday invitation and repurposed it as his birthday card; “A-ha”, I said to self, “you can tailor cards to suit the recipient, how cool is that?!” And then I discovered patterned paper…

8. What is your biggest paper crafting challenge? 

Can you say supply hoarder? Yep, I’ve got it BAD. I buy the stuff, and then am afraid to use it because I’m always worried that there would be something else that I would want to use it for. I even started the Use It! Challenges blog to try to convince myself and the many other guilty parties out there, that it’s “okay” to use those hoarded supplies!

9. If you were only allowed two items to create a card beside cardstock and adhesive, what would they be?

All I need is double-sided patterned paper and scissors! I love creating embellishments from patterned paper, such as flowers, ribbon or fussy cutting a design from the paper to use on a card.

10. What is your favorite occasion or holiday to paper craft and why?

Birthday cards are my favorite cards to create because I can design them to suit the person that I am giving them to. {have you ever tried buying a birthday card for a teen boy?! ’nuff said.}

Raes Tweet Party Card won BasicGreys Fifth Anniversary Challenge!

Rae's Tweet Party Card won BasicGrey's 5th Anniversary Challenge!

11. When is your favorite time to craft? 

I am an early morning crafter. I seem to create the best during the day when the kids are at school (no interruptions!), and with natural lighting. 

12. What sort of music do you listen to while crafting? 

Nothing better than crafting with reruns of Law & Order {& its myriad spin-offs) playing on the TV in the background.

13. How does your family participate in your paper crafting passion?

We’re definitely a paper craftin’ family. My husband raids my stash to make my birthday cards (on my birthday, of course); my oldest son loves coming into my craft room when working on his school projects (I call him the “king of distressing”) and he is a fellow font junkie; my daughter is often caught stealing my “bling”; and my little guy just likes to cut apart patterned paper (and leave lots of itty, bitty pieces for mommy to clean up!).

14. When it comes to calls and deadlines, how do you keep yourself organized?

Sadly, I am not very organized when it comes to deadlines/calls… I just have the info stored in my ol’ noggin, or refer to the calls/deadlines on my computer. {Note to self: devise a better way to organize this information.}

15. Do you remember what Paper Crafts issue your first project appeared in? How has your style changed since then?

The March 2008 Paper Crafts issue was my first ever publication; I had three cards published in that issue. I honestly don’t feel that my style has changed much since then; guess I’m sort of a status quo kind of girl.

16. Have you contributed to any design teams in the past or present? If so, which ones? 

I have been too chicken to try out for many design teams, although, I did try out for and was chosen to be on the fabulous 2 Sketches 4 You design team for the Winter 2008 term.

17. Name three designers whose styles you like and why they appeal to you.

  • Teri Anderson makes “simple” seem so, so easy; huge fan of the “less is more” philosophy.
  • Roree Rumph has such an amazing eye for detail; her stitching is perfection; her cards are layered just right and never over-embellished; and I admire her use of bold color and pattern.
  • Melissa Phillips is my shabby idol. As much as I try, I can never, ever, do shabby chic like she does. Seriously, have you seen the magic this girl can do with a discarded piece of corrugated cardboard?!

18. Do you have any advice/tips for someone who’s never been published or who wants to submit for the first time?

Start by doing a little bit of research. Look through the magazine(s) that you would like to submit to and see what types of projects they are publishing. Invest in some current product; remember that a publication call is for a magazine that will be published six months in the future, and therefore your product will also be six months older. Stay true to YOUR style. And most importantly, don’t give up! 

19. How would you describe your style?

Somewhat all over the spectrum, as I LOVE patterned paper, and allow it to guide my card making designs. I suppose my work could be considered clean and simple with an occasional touch of whimsy.

Heres another card Rae submitted to our Open Auditions round of Gallery Idol!

Here's another card Rae submitted to our "Open Auditions" round of Gallery Idol! Love that bright, yellow flower!

20. What did you enjoy most about the Gallery Idol experience?

Winning! {just kidding} I greatly enjoyed being challenged week after week. Would you believe it if I told you that as soon as I read the new theme, an idea immediately popped into my head, and I knew that I couldn’t stop until I turned that exact idea into a card. I loved the anticipation of Monday morning, waiting to see how my talented fellow contestants interpreted the theme, and the anticipation of Friday morning, nervously reading through the names of those moving on to the next round, hoping to see mine listed. I have to shout-out a HUGE thanks to the many manufacturers who supplied the prizes for this contest. I am overwhelmed by your generosity! And thank you Paper Crafts for this wonderful experience, which proved to be the perfect distraction for me this summer; something {other than my three active children} to keep me busy and my mind occupied while my husband started his deployment in Afghanistan.

Thanks, Rae! So glad our little contest was a fun and creative distraction for you. And just like us, I’m sure your husband is very proud of you. Even in Afghanistan, I know he’s cheering you on!

May only good things keep coming your way!
Kelly

P.S. It’s time to announce the four winners from my And the Gallery Idol Winner Is… post and the two winners from Jennifer’s Get Spooked with our September/October issue post! Here they are in no particular order:

My winners:

1. TishSch (August 2, 8:55 p.m.)
2. Jenny McGee (July 31, 8:08 p.m.)
3. Jess (August 1, 7:57 a.m.)
4. Roxanne (July 31, 9:47 a.m.)

Jennifer’s winners:

1. Valerie Durham (July 28, 8:40 p.m.)
2. CoreyW (July 28, 11:37 a.m.)

Congrats, winners! I’ll be e-mailing you shortly to get your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

