P. Kelly Smith

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Magazine Monday! I so enjoyed reading your priceless kid quotes over the weekend. Many of you referred to them as “gems” and I couldn’t agree more! Here’s some of my favorites:

Summer Braxton: “The funniest thing I’ve heard from a kid was on the first day of school. A seven-year-old student of mine asked if he would get in trouble for bringing guns to school. After seeing my shock, he slapped his biceps and said, ‘Cuz I have to bring these with me every day.’ I then knew who my class clown was for that year.”

Tasia: “When I was pregnant with my youngest child, we were told several times over that we were having a girl. Of course after all the preparation and planning HE decided to be a boy. My daughter (two at the time) came in the delivery room just after I had him, looked him over while they were weighing and such, and said, ‘Mom… She has a little bitty tail!'”

Tami Mayberry: “One day I was pushing the grocery cart through the store with my then 5-year-old daughter in it. We walked past a display of instant potatoes and she pointed to a box of Betty Crocker Au Gratin potatoes. ‘Mommy, what kind of potatoes are those?’ ‘Oh, those are Au Gratin potatoes. I don’t think you have ever had those.’ ‘Eeeeewe’ she exclaimed… ‘why would you want ‘all rotten’ potatoes!'”

Since I’m in a humorous mood today, I thought we would start the week off with some more laughs. Gallery Idol’s Top 5 finalists spent the weekend creating their humor cards – the theme for this fourth and final round of competition. I know all of them would appreciate some love (in the form of votes, mainly), so I’m spotlighting them here today. Here they are in alphabetical order:

Finalist 1: Rae Barthels Make a Wish Card

Finalist 1: Rae Barthel's Make a Wish Card

Finalist 2: Lizzie Jones I Love You... Punchline Card

Finalist 2: Lizzie Jones' I Love You... Punchline Card

Finalist 3: Belinda Chang Langes Do You Want Fries With That Pocket Card

Finalist 3: Belinda Chang Lange's Do You Want Fries With That Pocket Card

Finalist 4: Shanna Vineyards Girls Are Like Cell Phones... Card

Finalist 4: Shanna Vineyard's Girls Are Like Cell Phones... Card

Tessa Wises Crappy Day Card

Finalist 5: Tessa Wise's Crappy Day Card

Way to go, Top 5! You certainly had me giggling! If you’d like to show your support, please vote for your favorite humor card here. (If you haven’t already registered with our contest tool, you’ll need to create an username and password.) Voting will run through noon (MST) on Thursday, July 30. The grand prize winner will be announced on Friday, July 31. Make sure you check back here to see who takes home this fabulous prize package, courtesy of Making Memories!

Gallery Idols grand prize winner will receive all of this!

Gallery Idol's grand prize winner will take home all this fun!

May the queen of funny reign supreme!
Kelly

P.S. It’s time to announce the three winners from my Freebie Friday – Gallery Idol Top 5 post! Here they are in no particular order:

1. Deanna (July 24, 6:39 a.m.)
2. Mary Ann T (July 24, 2:02 p.m.)
3. Julie Overby (July 24, 10:12 p.m.)

Congrats, ladies! You’ve each won Inkadinkado’s Tell it Like it is stamp set, You Stand Out Kid Quotes stamp and BasicGrey’s Offbeat collection. I’ll be e-mailing you shortly for your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left so many humorous kid quotes!

