Courtney Smith

Courtney Smith

Welcome to Magazine Monday! I hope you all had a great weekend!

When Brandy offered me this internship, she cautioned that what I got out of it would be determined by what I put into it. My first couple days were a blur; I had no idea what was going on. To put it bluntly, my enthusiasm for paper crafts exceeded my ability… never a good combination.

Luckily for me, the Paper Crafts team was there to help at every step, and answer any and every question I had. I’ve learned a lot interning at Paper Crafts. Can you believe I’ve learned all this in two months?!

  • I finally learned what a die was. (Almost two months after starting here. I can’t tell you how many times I had to ask Brandy for clarification. Oops!)
  • I discovered or perhaps re-discovered my inner paper craftress. I will have you know that since starting at Paper Crafts, I have made five cards and a project. It’s a start!
  • I learned how to set up cards for photography shots.
  • I have learned how to write supply lists and instructions. After every set of instructions, I re-read them and think, “Hmmm. I think I could do that!”
  • As a result of said supply lists, I am a self-proclaimed expert with Papertrey Ink’s Perfect Match Cardstock. Aqua Mist, anyone?
  • I scratched the surface on learning the inner workings of a magazine.
  • I learned how to do “returns” – mailing projects and complimentary issues back to card designers.
  • I learned about trends in paper and product; I didn’t know there was so much product out there!
  • I’ve learned that I want to work here, and I wish my tenure as an intern with Paper Crafts was not coming to a close!

In short, I have loved every minute of working at Paper Crafts and I have learned more than I could in any other setting. I didn’t know what I was going into, but I learned along the way (with lots and lots of help!) and I will really miss my daily dose of creativity from you readers, and of course, the lovely ladies at Paper Crafts!

Your Paper Crafts Intern,
Courtney

Pausing for a photo with my Paper Crafts friends.

Pausing for a photo with my Paper Crafts friends.

P.S. Kelly asked me to remind you that voting for Round 3 of Gallery Idol begins today at noon. Make sure you check out this week’s button-rific entries and cast your vote! (*Remember, voting doesn’t begin until noon (MST), so please vote anytime after 12:00 p.m.)

P.P.S. It’s time to announce the six winners from Jennifer’s Welcome Go-to Gal, Betsy Veldman post! Here they are:

1. Jeni (July 16, 5:07 p.m.)
2. Mindy (July 16, 11: 37 a.m.)
3. Lisa Smith (July 16, 2:42 p.m.)
4. Angela S. (July 16, 7: 21 a.m.)
5. Carla (July 16, 10:43 a.m.)
6. Sharon D (July 16, 9:59 a.m.)

Congrats, ladies! You’ve each won a stamp set from Papertrey Ink. Kelly will be contacting you shortly for your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left so many (527 and counting!) comments for Betsy! Make sure you check back here tomorrow when we reveal the identity of mystery Go-to Gal #5!

