P. Kelly Smith

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Freebie Friday! To say we have a lot going on right now would be understatement. In the last two weeks we’ve released our special issue Card Creations, Volume 7, announced the Top 20 in our Gallery Idol contest and welcomed six new Go-to Gals to our Paper Crafts family. Like I said, it’s been a busy couple of weeks!

And it’s only going to heat up from here. Good thing we all have this upcoming weekend to recharge our batteries and enjoy all the patriotic festivities that accompany the Fourth of July. For all of our international readers, please indulge this American girl with this red, white and blue post.

I’ve always been a fan of the Fourth of July. I guess for me it really signifies that summer is finally here. I love all the Main Street parades. I love the backyard barbecues, the dripping snow cones, the fireflies at dusk, and of course, the fireworks that light up the midnight sky. All of these traditions remind me of what a lucky girl I am to live in this blessed nation where freedom is celebrated each and every day.

Here’s one of my favorite Fourth of July memories. My family was up in beautiful McCall, Idaho in 2006 and we snapped this photo in front of this gorgeous backdrop.

Another tradition I follow is I make a delicious flag cake every Fourth of the July. I love fresh berries (apparently all of you do too!) and they’re even better on top of a moist, yellow cake with whip cream frosting!

This is my take on the traditional Fourth of July flag cake. Not as pretty, but I swear it tastes just as good!

This is my "take" on the traditional Fourth of July flag cake. Not nearly as pretty, but I swear it tastes just as good! My secret ingredient: dust the top with cinnamon!

While I can’t make all of you a yummy cake for the Fourth, I can give away some red, white and blue product! Leave a comment telling me your favorite Fourth of July tradition. I’ll pick four winners to win some paper and stamps from Imaginisce’s Teacher’s Pet collection. All comments must be received by midnight (MST) on Sunday, July 5.

In honor of the Fourth of July, four lucky winners will each win this prize package from Imaginisce.

Four lucky winners will each win this prize package from Imaginisce.

However you spend Independence Day, I hope it’s a memorable one!

Kelly

P.S. Make sure to check back here at noon on Monday when voting begins for Round 1 of Gallery Idol. Come support our Top 20 as they show off their wedding-themed cards. Who will get your vote?

