Cath Edvalson

Cath Edvalson

Ask anyone here, and they’ll tell you how much they love their job. Sometimes I wake up thinking I am one of the luckiest gals in the world because of the tasks that lay ahead of me, the people with whom I get to work, and the inspiration that I’m going to find on any given day. I mean, being the creative editor of a magazine like Paper Crafts is like eating chocolate for breakfast, lunch, and dinner without gaining any weight.

Of all my super-fun duties, however, right now I’m super-loving authoring the Moxie Fab World blog. I mean, the sheer idea that I get paid to find inspiration for readers all over the world, quite frankly, is mind-boggling to me. Take last Tuesday, for example… I was surfing the ‘net for some inspiration, happened upon a very cool modern furniture site, started digging around, and found some uber cool wallpapers.

Feathers Wallpaper from 2modern.com

Animal Farm Wallpaper from 2modern.com

Suzanne Wallpaper from 2modern.com

Now, in all probability, I would never plaster these patterns on the walls of my home, but they are inspiring in and of themselves. And then I started noticing that each one reminded me in a big way of paper crafting product that I was familiar with.

The fire was lit. The inspirer was inspired.

You can’t imagine my joy as I flitted from web site to web site, trying to find the matching product to each wallpaper sample. Call me crazy, but it was some serious brand of joy. Did I mention how much I love my job?

This wallpaper reminded me of this Peacock Feather Stamp from Inkadinkado.

Look at the similarities between the wallpaper and the Baby Zoo piece of paper from the Baby Cakes Collection from KI Memories.

Though they’re in a different color scheme, the resemblance between the wallpaper and the Simplicite paper from the Cosette Collection from GCD Studios is uncanny.

Here’s the cool thing. When I sat down to write the post, I didn’t have a plan, I had no idea in what direction I would go, nor where the inspiration would take me. One thing led to the next and before I knew it, I was having a quite literal blast putting the whole thing together, and I was extremely pleased with the results.

That’s the very nature of inspiration, isn’t it? A spark is ignited, the excitement is registered, there’s a flood of ideas, more excitement ensues, the work begins, and before you know it you’ve dived into an entire bowlful of magic.

What’s inspiring you lately? Who inspires you? What inspires you? Where and when do you get your best ideas? Now that you’ve heard what’s revving my engine, I’d love to hear what’s revving yours! Leave me a comment by midnight MST on Thursday, June 18 and I’ll choose a random winner to win some American Crafts fun!

Yours in sourcing inspiration,
~Cath

P.S. For the full post that compares wallpaper to paper crafting product, click here.

