Courtney Smith

Courtney Smith

I have a bit of an obsession… magazines. I refuse to go to the self-checkout lanes at grocery stores because doing such would inhibit my magazine browsing while waiting for the checkout worker. There is something about the high-shine and glossiness of magazines that lures me in.

Working at a magazine is my ultimate dream. It combines two things I love: writing and magazines. And while I am a self-proclaimed connoisseur of reading magazines, I really had no idea what went into producing a magazine. So here is a brief glimpse into what really goes on between the pages.

Heres just a few of my favorite magazines right now. We just got out desk copies of Card Creations, Volume 7 this week! It hits newsstands on June 23!

Here's just a few of my favorite magazines right now. We just got our desk copies of Card Creations, Volume 7 this week! It hits newsstands on June 23! To preorder this fabulous special issue, click on the magazine image!

My first week was exciting, to say the least. Monday welcomed me with post mortem notes, submission reviews, and first proof reviews. I know. What? Let me explain a bit. Post mortem notes are essentially what we did and didn’t like about the previous issue; our favorite card, our favorite feature, and so on. Submission reviews consisted of me staring in awe at the incredible talent presented before me, while Susan explained the different classifications of cards and what we were looking for. As a bit of a grammatical fiend, I relished in first proofs later that day, where we went over rough copies of the upcoming issue, scanning for errors. Might I add, errors were few and far between.

Heres a peek into our weekly staff meeting, otherwise known as Rendezvous. As you can see, Matt is designing in his sleep, while Jennifer emphasizes a point with her pen.

Here's a peek into our weekly staff meeting, otherwise known as Rendezvous. As you can see, Matt is completely engrossed with Jennifer's meeting manager style. And yes, that thing in the middle of the table is a dog dish...filled with candy. That Stace has a wicked sense of humor!

Wednesday kicked off with our weekly Rendezvous meeting, where we discussed upcoming events like World Card Making Day, and the status of future magazine issues. After lunch, we judged submissions for the January/February 2010 edition, and my dormant romantic was awakened looking at all the Valentine’s Day projects. I found myself saying, “That would be great for….” Following the judgment, submissions were sorted and acceptances were sent out.

I toured the photography studio. I got to sit in on a meeting about the September/October cover. And I compiled supply lists and instructions for cards featured in the magazine. I listened as plans were hatched for upcoming issues, and I added my two cents on a new avatar being designed. On Friday, we handed the magazine off to design (Matt’s not sleeping anymore!).

And so, my first two weeks ended in a blur. I went grocery shopping, and left with a few extra reading materials. (Hey, I had a long weekend ahead of me!) And as I flipped through the glossy pages that night, careful not to smudge the pages, I found myself not only enjoying the spreads, but instead analyzing the format of the feature, the picture to accompany, the design of the layout. And I felt like a bit of an insider, because I had peeked into the world of magazines.

Long live my magazine obsession!
Courtney, Paper Crafts intern

P.S. It’s time to announce the two winners of Kelly’s Freebie Friday – The Eco Issue post! Here they are in no particular order:

1. 2ndhandstamps (June 14, 6:14 a.m.)
2. Debbi (June 12, 11:48 a.m.)

Congrats, ladies! Each of will receive a selection of Tinkering Ink’s “Becoming Green” papers, as well as Unity Stamp Company’s “Growing in Unity’ stamp set. Kelly will be e-mailing you shortly for your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left so many great comments!

P.P.S. It’s also time to announce the three winners from Brandy’s {{{Hugs}}} post! Here they are in no particular order:

1. Naz (June 12, 4:56 p.m.)
2. Kelly (June 11, 6:06 p.m.)
3. snarflemarfle (June 11, 6:49 p.m.)

Each of you has won a “Writer’s Block Backgrounder” stamp from Cornish Heritage Farms. Kelly will be e-mailing you shortly for your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

And, it’s also time to announce the winner from Susan’s Happy Paper Crafts Anniversary to Me! post!

Congrats to Linda E. (June 11, 7:56 p.m.)!

You’ve won a copy of our July/August issue, as well as four cards that appear in this issue. Susan will be contacting you shortly for your mailing address!

