Alisa Bangerter

Alisa Bangerter

I had the opportunity to create the Paper Crafts 101 column for the July/August issue of Paper Crafts magazine. I played around with techniques using items from nature and came up with a lot of really fun things to do using items from my yard.

One of my favorite was creating texture using some green leaves by rubbing them on cardstock and transferring the pigment onto the paper. 

Since spring has burst my yard into a plethora of color, I wanted to try a variety of brightly colored flower petals and leaves to see what I could create. 

I took each petal or leaf and rubbed it in circular motions onto cardstock. It was fun to see how each color transferred onto the paper, as some colors are different from what you think will appear. The effect of the pigment from the plants has a soft watercolor look to it – in fact it is hard to tell that it isn’t a paint or ink that was used.

And heres the finished result!

And here's the finished result!

So my challenge to you is to try a new technique using something from nature. It’s fun, fast and free!

Alisa, Paper Crafts Pro

P.S. For those of you who don’t have flowers growing in a garden, today I’m giving them away…the stamped version that is! Leave a comment telling me your favorite item from nature. It can be anything! I’ll randomly pick three people to win a copy of our July/August issue and Kelly Panacci’s Funtastik Flowers stamp set. All comments must be received by midnight on Thursday, June 11. The three winners will be announced on Friday’s blog.

Three lucky winners will take home this prize package!

Three lucky winners will take home this prize package!

