Courtney Smith

Courtney Smith

Hello fellow paper crafters! I’m super excited to be the new intern here at Paper Crafts! Thank you for all of your lovely comments in Jennifer’s post this week. I already feel right at home and am anxious to learn all that I can!

Forgive me, but I grew up with only brothers, so sports analogies are rampant in my family. And to you baseball fans out there, here’s one: I’ve been called up. As a rookie in the field of card making, accepting the Paper Crafts internship catapulted me into the major leagues. Let me preface…I am the patron saint of unfinished projects. 

A peek into my hallway closet reveals half-finished cards, reading “Merry Chri…” before tapering off to scraps and raw corners. Paper from seasons ago and dried glue sticks litter the closet. The interest is there. I spend hours meandering craft stores, leafing through piles of paper and vowing that this time is different. This time I will complete my project. I get home, set up shop in front of the TV watching The Food Network, and get to work. Eventually, I can’t decide where to put the sentiment, or how to arrange the embellishment, and life interrupts my creative juices. “I’ll work on this later,” I tell myself. “Later” turns into putting it in the hall closet for “safe keeping” until I can devote more attention to it. Like I said, the interest is there, the execution is lacking.

Thank goodness for my planner! Without it and my little to-do lists, I would be lost!

Thank goodness for my planner! Without it and my little to-do lists, I would be lost!

This, however, is my year of doing things I say I’m going to, tackling those “laters” head-on. I went bungee jumping, I backpacked through Europe, I’m running a marathon, and now, I am vowing (This time for real. I promise.) to complete my crafting projects. You, beloved readers, have my word. And while I am way out of my league, surrounded by unmatched talent and creativity, I couldn’t be more excited about this internship or this opportunity.

So feel free to share your card-making tips and tricks and any encouragement you may have. I need all the help I can get!

Your Paper Crafts Intern,
Courtney

P.S. I’ve already made a card for my roommate, and an adorable homemade card and envelope set. I may have unleashed a monster.

