Brynn Lillywhite

Brynn Lillywhite

Welcome to this Memorial Day Magazine Monday and my last blog post as your Paper Crafts design intern. While I’m sad to leave this internship behind, I’m so excited to see what the future holds for me.

How many times do we fail because we’re too afraid to try? I remember my first few days here at Paper Crafts. I could barely accomplish anything because I was so intimidated by the creativity and confidence that was so obvious in everyone else! I was nervous to voice ideas, make any suggestions or even to trust my own abilities. Looking back, that was so silly! I had no reason to be intimidated, but I lost precious time doubting myself…what a waste of time!

How many of us, reading this today, have been intimidated by others’ talents? On the flip side, how many of us, when we have taken a chance, have conquered that fear and been surprised by our own success?

Here’s an example. Some of my girlfriends and I get together for a card making night once a month. In the beginning I was excited, but also a bit nervous. I thought, “What if mine doesn’t look as good as my friends? What will they think?” I finally got over my fears and you know what, I loved it! We had a ton of fun and the cards we made were super cute! Here’s a few examples:

The Love You Much and Thank Ewe Cards were created by my card group pal Keila Lewis. I recently made the Thanks Card for my husband...he was amazing during finals week! And the two cards on the bottom right were for my amazing mom and mother-in-law for Mothers Day.

The Love You Much and Thank Ewe Cards were created by my card group pal Keila Lewis. I made the Thanks Card for my husband...he was amazing during finals week! And the two cards on the bottom right were for my amazing mom and mother-in-law for Mother's Day.

Well ladies (and gentlemen), it’s time to take a step out of your comfort zone and embrace whatever is out there waiting to be created!

My favorite thing about doing things I’m not comfortable with is seeing my success. I’m still learning the in’s and out’s of card making, but I’m doing it and loving every minute of it! Isn’t that what really matters?

I know some of you read this blog every day and love it! (What’s not to love?) I also know many of you enjoy making cards, but are too hesitant to submit them. So here is to all of you who want to try, but just haven’t. Today is the day! Submit your cards — what do you have to lose?

By the way — I would love to know that I’m not the only one out there that gets a little nervous when I am trying to create something new. Share your comments and stories; I can’t wait to read them!

Your design intern,
Brynn Lillywhite

P.S.

Happy Birthday to you!

Happy birthday to you!

Happy birthday to Brenda!!!

Happy birthday to you!

Everyone be sure to wish our dear Brenda a very happy birthday!

