Alisa Bangerter

Alisa Bangerter

As I look out my window, I am inspired by all the colors of spring. I currently have a yard full of bright pink tulips and a flower bed with cushions of purple phlox. It seems that after a cold and frozen winter, the blue sky, green grass and vibrant flowers make me happy and bring a smile to my face.

Another thing that inspires me and makes me smile is ribbon! As I look around my paper crafting room, I’m inspired by all the bright colors and patterns of ribbon. I have color coordinated jars filled with ribbon wrapped around clothespins and large jars filled with my ribbon scraps.

This great organizational idea is from my fellow PC Pro Wendy Johnson – thanks Wendy!

This great organizational idea is from my fellow PC Pro Wendy Johnson – thanks Wendy!

I decided I wanted to have more of my ribbon where I can see it, so I filled up a tiered wire basket with all my tiny spools. It is so fun to easily see all my ribbon and to have it so close at hand.

Now I have my very own ribbon display in my craft room! Anyone want to go shopping?

Now I have my very own ribbon display in my craft room! Anyone want to go shopping?

I decided to dump out my jar of ribbon scraps and make a quick card. I simply adhered pieces of ribbon across the front of a cardstock base. I love how the ribbon scraps made a bright and happy background. This same technique would work well with strips of patterned paper and would be a great way to use up scraps.

Talk about a quick and easy card!

Talk about a quick and easy card!

So look around you and find something that inspires you – whether it be flowers, bright colors or my favorite… ribbon! Speaking of ribbon, I just happen to be giving away some today!

Four lucky winners will each win these four ribbon cards from Cosmo Cricket!

Four lucky winners will each win these four ribbon cards from Cosmo Cricket!

Leave a comment telling me your favorite ways to use ribbon in your paper crafting. All comments must be received by midnight on Thursday, May 14. The winners will be announced on Friday’s blog. 

Happy paper crafting!
Alisa

P.S. Looking for more inspiration from scraps… make sure you check our “Crafting the Scraps” feature in our upcoming  July/August 2009 issue!

