Susan R. Opel

Susan R. Opel

Since becoming a scrapbooker and card maker, I’ve noticed that my eyes have literally been opened to the world around me. It’s as if I had spent years in a fog not really taking note of my surroundings. But, my how things have changed!

A billboard, a magazine ad, a store window display, a book cover, a frilly shirt, a fabulous necklace, a bag of pretzels – now absolutely EVERYTHING inspires me. I look at color combinations, design elements, and all of the little details that made me look twice. Sometimes I get so excited, I have to run home and create something immediately, like the time I spied this window display in Las Vegas and created this card!

Since orange is my favorite color, pairing it with white, yellow and royal blue certainly struck a chord with me.

Since orange is my favorite color, pairing it with white, yellow and royal blue certainly struck a chord with me.

It probably doesn’t come as a surprise then that one of my favorite things about my job at Paper Crafts magazine is the opportunity to write Get Inspired – that final little bit of dessert at the end of every issue. Here, one designer creates a project based on some sort of seasonal item. From winter scarves, to bridal bouquets, and mortar boards, the way that these designers have been able to create something beautiful, unique, and inspiring has been so much fun to share with you.

This project appears in the March/April 2009 issue of Paper Crafts magazine.

This project appears in the March/April 2009 issue of Paper Crafts magazine.

As a former floral designer, finding inspiration from a bridal bouquet was a perfect fit for Betsy Veldman. Fun fact: I ordered this bouquet from a local florist for photography in our studio.

Now it’s your turn! Find something unique that inspires you and get creating. And I’d love to see the results! Send me a link to your blog or shoot me an image via e-mail at sopel@ckmedia.com.

Susan

