P. Kelly Smith

P. Kelly Smith

Welcome to Freebie Friday! First of all, I want to give a big shout out to those who responded to Matt’s Lone Design Man post yesterday. I know he was truly surprised and humbled by all of your comments. Who knew this “average, every day, run-of-the-mill kind of guy” would be such a big hit!

And ladies, he will be writing more blog posts in the future. With comments like the following, how can I keep Matt hidden away?

  • It’s really refreshing when you meet a guy in the paper crafting world!
  • I love the amazing graphics in the magazine and often stare at them for inspiration and composition just as much as the projects themselves.
  • Thank you so much for being such a real kind of guy with a great perspective on co-workers and life.

If you haven’t left a comment on Matt’s post, you have until midnight tonight to be entered to win a collection of magazines featuring his amazing openers. (After midnight, you can still leave a comment telling Matt how great he is, but unfortunately, you won’t be eligible to win.)

You know who else is great? Dear ol’ Mom. My own mother likes to tell people she’s my older sister. And since we’re only 20 years apart, she usually gets away with it! Maybe I should pay more attention to the moisturizer talk that goes on here at the office!

My cute “sister” and I at my cousin’s wedding in 2005.

My cute “sister” and I at my cousin’s wedding in 2005.

And since Mother’s Day is on Sunday, I thought I would spotlight two fabulous projects from our May/June 2009 issue. Who knows? Maybe a few of you need some last minute design inspiration!

Heres Beatriz Jennings Tulip Card and A Mothers Love Card

Here's Beatriz Jennings' Tulip Card and A Mother's Love Card

I just love Beatriz’ soft and shabby style! And I love how she incorporated a flower into the design of her butterfly card. So clever! Speaking of flowers… have you ordered some for your Mom yet? If not, never fear… I’m giving them away! Technically they’re not real flowers, but they can definitely be used on Mother’s Day cards, gifts, etc. And the best part… they won’t wilt!

Three lucky winners will each receive this flower-themed prize package featuring product from Maya Road, Luxe Designs, Sandylion and Sharpie!

Three lucky winners will each receive this flower-themed prize package featuring product from Maya Road, Luxe Designs, Sandylion and Sharpie!

Leave me a comment telling me the best advice your mother/mother figure ever gave you. Three random winners will receive the fun prize package shown above. All comments must be received by midnight on Sunday, May 10. The winners will be announced on Monday’s blog.

P.S. Our May Gallery Challenge launched on Monday and already we have some spectacular projects! To participate or view the Mother’s Day-themed cards, please click here. The deadline for this challenge is not until Monday, May 25, so make a card for Mom and then upload it to our gallery!

P.P.S. It’s time to announce the winners of Wendy Johnson’s Gifty Card Sets post. Here they are in no particular order:

1. Jessica K (May 6, 5:52 p.m.)
2. Chris S. (May 6, 11:39 a.m.)
3. Eliane (May 6, 7:09 a.m.)

Congrats, winners! Each of you will receive a copy of our latest special issue 225 Cards & Gifts. I’ll be e-mailing you shortly for your mailing addresses. Thanks to all who left comments!

